2017 Houses Awards: Emerging Architecture Practice

Emerging Architecture Practice ME 2017 Houses Awards

Jury comment

Established in 2013 by architect Matthew Eagle, ME is a practice that is pushing boundaries and reconsidering the suburban status quo on the Gold Coast.

ME’s growing suite of sensitively contextual residential projects embraces the coastal way of life and climate. The practice delightfully engages with the beachside vernacular and celebrates ordinary materials and products to create contemporary homes that are playful, liveable and affordable.

ME’s residential work not only aims to enhance the daily lives of each home’s occupants, it also strives to give back to the relevant neighbourhood character.

For Matthew, research is an important aspect to design and alongside running his practice, he is an assistant professor at the Abedian School of Architecture at Bond University on the Gold Coast.

Is it clear that, along with his clients and consultants, Matthew Eagle is making his mark on the Gold Coast with considered, cost-effective and climatically responsive residential architecture.

See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.

Award for Emerging Architecture Practice is supported by Blum.



Published online: 4 Aug 2017
Images: Christopher Frederick Jones, Toby Scott


Houses, August 2017

Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.

Most read

Latest on site