2017 National Architecture Awards: Commercial Architecture Commendation

Click to enlarge
NewActon Nishi by Fender Katsalidis Architects.

NewActon Nishi by Fender Katsalidis Architects. Image: John Gollings

NewActon Nishi by Fender Katsalidis Architects
Commercial Architecture: National Commendation
Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Nishi is a refreshing model for commercial architecture, fusing a number of compatible elements into a microcosm of a city. An imposing timber sunscreen and hanging gardens announce the building’s environmental credentials, which are impressive. The architects’ clear design strategy establishes an internal street and grand staircase through a multi-use activated hotel foyer linking its adjoining neighbours. This urban project has cleverly provided a framework for collaborators and artists to come together and create a vibrant and commercially viable hub not seen previously in Canberra – a compact, pedestrian-focused, art- and culture- oriented precinct that is far more than a singular building.

More award

Most read