2017 National Prizes: Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture: Timothy Randall
2017 National Prizes
Australian Institute of Architects

The jury is impressed with the high calibre of candidates for this prize – all demonstrating a depth of commitment to architecture and significant achievements according to the criteria.

With outstanding leadership, engagement and advocacy skills, Timothy Randall of Monash University is the recipient of the 2017 Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture. Believing that architecture is a powerful tool for creating social change, Randall has broadened engagement and advocacy opportunities with industry, students, parliamentarians and the profession, raising the awareness of social justice, equality and student rights.

Randall has been involved with the Student Organized Network for Architecture (SONA), most recently as a mentor for newer SONA representatives. He is passionate about education and has been a juror for the Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize and participated as a student representative on the ANZ APAP National Visiting Panel to Griffith University. His commitment to student engagement is delivered through the organization of events, including SuperStudio, Archispiel, Archiball and the Summer Portfolio Workshop.

As co-creative director of the 2015 Biennial Australasian Student Architecture Congress, Randall was involved in the concept, successful bid and delivery of a high-energy, three-day event with community and industry involvement, national and international speakers and a range of workshops, forums and associated events.

Continuing his commitment to education and the profession, Randall is a Monash University student ambassador, working with high school students to advocate for the design profession. He is an assistant tutor, teaching and mentoring for the first-year Foundation studio, and a member of the Learning and Teaching Committee student reference group, working directly with staff at Monash University.

The jury congratulates Timothy Randall and commends him for his ongoing energy and commitment across the areas of leadership, advocacy and engagement for now and the future.


Clare Cousins RAIA (Chair) Clare Cousins Architects; Sarah Briant RAIA architect/lecturer, School of Design, Queensland University of Technology; Dr Ceridwen Owen RAIA Deputy Head of School, School of Architecture and Design, University of Tasmania; Cale Black 2016 SONA President

More awards

Most read