Tiny apartment wins top gong in 2018 Architeam Awards

The Architeam Cooperative has announced the winners of the 2018 Architeam Awards.

The awards recieved 150 entries this year – the most for the program to date.

Tsai Design’s Type Street Apartment took home the awards’ most prestigious prize, the Architeam Medal. The tiny apartment was also the recipient of the Small Project Medal and the Residential – Alterations and Additions Award.

“The project sought to ‘fit a big house into a small apartment’ and to accommodate living and home office within the same space,” said the jury. “The result is an exemplary alteration that prioritises function and comfort, and demonstrates how architectural care and consideration can improve day-to-day living.”

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

Elsewhere, a number of organizations were honoured for their role in Australian architecture in the new Contribution and Innovation category. Of these, the Our City Our Square campaign by Citizens for Melbourne – a movement against the planned Apple store at Federation Square – also recieved the Sustainability Medal.

The 2018 judges were chair Justine Clark (Parlour), Steffen Welsch (Steffen Welsch Architecture), Marika Neustupny (NMBW Architecture Studio), Christine Major (Welsh and Major), Mark Austin (Austin Maynard Architects), Miriam Green (Tribe Studio Architecture) and Delia Teschendorff (Delia Teschendorff Architecture).

The awards were announced in Melbourne on 14 November, however, the People’s Choice Award is still up for grabs, with votes being accepted until Saturday 25 November.

The winners are:

Type Street Apartment by Tsai Design.

Type Street Apartment by Tsai Design.

Image: Tess Kelly

Blinco Street House by Philip Stejskal Architecture.

Blinco Street House by Philip Stejskal Architecture.

Image: Bo Wong

Architeam Medal

Type Street Apartment – Tsai Design

Residential New Award


Blinco Street House – Philip Stejskal Architecture


Triangle House – Molecule
Coogee House II – Madeleine Blanchfield Architects

Residential Alterations and Additions Award

Joint winners

Type Street Apartment – Tsai Design
Green Shutter House – OOF Architecture


Tudor Revival – Warc Studio
Art House – Winwood Mckenzie Architecture
Manly House I – EM Architects

Caroma on Collins by Archier.

Caroma on Collins by Archier.

Image: Katherine Lu

Commercial Award


Caroma on Collins – Archier


Polyglot – McMahon and Nerlich

Surry Hills Surry Hills (Little Albion Guest House) – Terence Yong Architecture, Shed (Architecture) with Archemy, Space Control (Interior Design)

The Les Wilson Barramundi Discovery Centre  by Bud Brannigan Architects.

The Les Wilson Barramundi Discovery Centre by Bud Brannigan Architects.

Image: David Sandison

Community Award


Les Wilson Barramundi Discovery CentreBud Brannigan Architects


Northside Boulders – Green Sheep Collective

Free to Feed – Circle Studio Architects

Unbuilt Award


Warne Street Residences – Sonelo Design Studio

Contribution and Innovation Award

Joint winners

Accessibility in the Built Environment – Visionary
New Architects Melbourne (NAM)
Sydney Architecture Walks – Eoghan Lewis
Our City Our Square campaign – Citizens for Melbourne

Small Project Medal

Type Street Apartment – Tsai Design

Sustainability Medal

Our City Our Square campaign – Citizens for Melbourne

People’s Choice

Downside Up House – WALA

For more information, including the 2018 finalists, go here.

More news

See all
Crone's design for the 35-storey hotel tower at Sydney’s Pitt Street. Crone's recycled-brick design wins hotel tower competition

Crone has designed a 35-storey hotel tower for Sydney’s Pitt Street that will be constructed using recycled brick.

Evangelical Lutheran Church campus by Carmody Groarke in collaboration with German practice Riehle and Assoziierte. Derelict brutalist office reimagined as modern church campus

Carmody Groarke won a competition to design the new campus in Nuremberg, Bavaria.

Overview of the proposal for the Gold Coast Integrated Resort designed by Blight Rayner. Qld government bans towers on Gold Coast’s Southport Spit

The Queensland Government has released a document outlining a number of possible options that could lead to an eventual masterplan for the Southport Spit.

An early indicative design for the proposed towers at St John’s Cathedral in Parramatta. Heritage church hall to be replaced with towers

A heritage-listed hall at Australia’s oldest church site would be demolished under a proposal to construct two towers and a public square.

Most read

Latest on site