2018 Australian Interior Design Awards: Commendations

Twenty-four projects and one emerging practice received commendations.

Hospitality Design

Chin Chin – George Livissianis

Shobosho – Studio Gram

Jackalope – Carr

Viet Next Door – Genesin Studio

Installation Design

Maticevski: Dark Wonderland – Studio Wonder

Myer Autumn Runway “It’s Not Just Fashion” – Gloss Creative

Watchmaker – Folk Architects

Workplace Design

Pepper Sydney – Hassell

The Agency – Redgen Mathieson

Hordern House – Studio Kate

Retail Design

Bec and Bridge – George Livissianis

Acne Studios, Sydney – Acne Studios Design Team and H and E Architects

Space and Time – Russell and George

Residential Design

Highbury Grove – Ritz and Ghougassian

Coogee House II – Madeleine Blanchfield Architects

Nightingale 1 – Breathe Architecture

Darlinghurst Residence – SJB

Residential Decoration

Beach House – SJB

Elwood2 – Robson Rak Architecture and Interiors

Frenches Interior – Sibling Architecture

South Yarra Mirror Apartment – Golden

Stables House – Robson Rak Architecture and Interiors

Public Design

Bunjil Place – FJMT

Guardian Early Learning Centre Barangaroo – Collins and Turner

Emerging Interior Design Practice

Pattern Studio

The Australian Interior Design Awards are presented by the Design Institute of Australia and Artichoke magazine. For more images, see the Australian Interior Design Awards gallery.



Published online: 25 May 2018
Images: CR3 Architecture Photography, Christine Francis, Eve Wilson, Felix Forest, John Gollings, Jonathan VDK, Katherine Lu, Lucas Dawson, Maree Homer Photography, Nicole England, Paul Martin, Peter Bennetts, Peter Clarke, Richard Glover, Robert Walsh, Romello Pereira, Sean Fennessy, Shannon McGrath, Sharyn Cairns, Tom Blachford, Tom Ferguson


Artichoke, June 2018

Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site