Endorsed by

2018 Australian Urban Design Awards jury announced

The jury for the 2018 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards has been announced, with submissions for the awards program being accepted up until 27 July.

Among the jury members are Helen Lochhead, president-elect of the Australian Institute of Architects and dean of the University of New South Wales Built Environment school and Melinda Payne, associate to the Western Australian Government Architect.

The full jury comprises:

Amy Child – Arup transport and urban planner (representing Engineers Australia)

Helen Lochhead – UNSW Built Environment dean (representing the Australian Institute of Architects)

James Cahill – Mirvac ESD engineer (representing the Green Building Council of Australia)

Malcolm Snow – City Renewal Authority CEO (representing the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects)

Melinda Payne – Government Architect Western Australia associate (representing the Government Architects Network Australia)

Neil Savery – Australian Building Codes Board CEO (representing the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council)

William Chandler – Chandler Consulting Services director (representing the Planning Institute of Australia)

The Australian Urban Design Awards are broad in scope and attract entries for initiatives, built projects and publications. The 2018 awards’ categories have been refreshed to reflect the importance of good design at a local, regional and city scale.

The 2018 award categories are: Built projects – city and regional scale; Built projects – local and neighbourhood scale; Leadership, advocacy and research – city and regional scale; and Leadership, advocacy and research – local and neighbourhood scale.

The awards patrons are prime minister Malcolm Turnbull and chief commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission Lucy Turnbull.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia with the support of the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the Green Building Council of Australia, the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, Consult Australia, Engineers Australia, the Urban Design Forum and the Government Architects Network Australia.

The awards are supported by principal partner Cement and Concrete Aggregates Australia and supporting partners Cosentino and Holcim.

For further information and to enter the awards, head here.

More news

See all
A fire at the Lacrosse building in Melbourne’s Docklands prompted an audit of building with non-compliant cladding in Victoria. ‘Sensible and overdue’: Vic gov't announces $600m package to fix ‘high-risk’ cladding

The Victorian government has announced it will establish a new agency and a $600 million fund to rectify buildings with high-risk cladding.

Melbourne School of Design by John Wardle Architects and NADAAA. University of Melbourne launches $4,000 architectural baking competition

The University of Melbourne is inviting members of the public to recreate Melbourne’s architectural icons in cake form.

The proposed Gold Coast Airport expansion designed by Hassell. Hassell's Gold Coast Airport expansion underway

The Hassell-designed southern terminal expansion to Gold Coast Airport has kicked off with foundation works beginning in mid-July 2019.

The proposed Maitland Hospital by BVN. BVN designs $470m hospital in Maitland, NSW

BVN has designed a new, $470 million hospital for the city of Maitland in the Lower Hunter Valley in NSW.

Most read

Latest on site