Winners revealed: 2018 DIA South Australia/Northern Territory Awards

The Design Institute of Australia (DIA) announced the winners of the 2018 South Australia/Northern Territory Awards at a celebration on 3 November held at The Manor at Basket Range in Adelaide.

Now in its 26th year, the awards cover built environment, communication and product design categories. The awards also see another “Design Icon” added to the list of 25 that were named at last year’s awards in honour of the awards’ 25th anniversary.

Historic Adelaide furniture manufacturer T.H Brown was announced as the 26th Design Icon. Perhaps best known for the Danish and Martelle Bar Stool ranges, Brown’s “immeasurable contribution to South Australian furniture design” was recognized with the award.

2018 Design Institute of Australia South Australia/Northern Territory Awards

Premier’s Award

PROHAB Connected Healthcare Device – Sandy Walker and Flinders University

Collaboration Award

ZED Management Consulting – Studio Gram

Workspace Award

Prohibition Gin – Toolbox Graphic Design

Built Environment



Hickinbotham Homes Display Centre – Capsule Projects



Malt and Juniper – Sans-Arc Studio


Melt Henley Beach – Studio Gram



Agora – Charlotte Standish



HDP Residence – Genesin Studio

Woodside Residence – Enoki

Malvern Residence – Williams Burton Leopardi


GA House – Architects Ink

Millswood House – Studio Gram



Macquarie University C7A MAZE – Architectus

UniSA Business School Hub – MPH Architects

Birds and Bees Exhibit – Exhibition Studios

Feeling Human Exhibit – Exhibition Studios



Contech Pulteney Street Studio – Contech

Port Adelaide Office Accomodation – Walter Brooke and Associates

ZED Management Consulting – Studio Gram


Visual Communication


Hahndorf Hill – Parallax


Prohibition Gin – Toolbox Graphic Design

Glenlea – KS Design Studio

Kintsugi – Parallax

In Praise of Shadows – Parallax

Vox Pop – Parallax



Mitimes – Deming Factor

Product Design

Industrial Design


PROHAB Connected Healthcare Device – Sandy Walker and Flinders University


GRIPPIE – Andrew Whittaker Industrial Design

More news

See all
The Victoria Cross integrated station development. North Sydney integrated station development finalized

Final designs have been unveiled for the proposed Victoria Cross station development, which includes a 42-storey office tower and a new retail laneway.

A design option for the CIT Woden campus. Early designs for new Canberra university campus released

The ACT government has released early indicative concept designs for a major university campus and bus interchange for Woden in Canberra.

The appointed government will consider proposals that could support WA's post-pandemic economic recovery. WA on the lookout for government architect with a vision for a 'connected, vibrant' state

Geoff Warn, who served as government architect from 2013, concluded his term in February 2020.

Footscray Psychiatric Centre designed by the Victorian Public Works Department, 1972–77. ‘Foreboding’ brutalist hospital added to Victorian Heritage Register

The former Footscray Psychiatric Centre has been given state heritage listing.

Most read

Latest on site