2018 Dulux Study Tour shortlist revealed

Click to enlarge
The high-rise buildings of London: the “Walkie-Talkie” by Rafael Viñoly Architects (left) and the “Cheesegrater” by Roger Stirk Harbour Partnership (right).

The high-rise buildings of London: the “Walkie-Talkie” by Rafael Viñoly Architects (left) and the “Cheesegrater” by Roger Stirk Harbour Partnership (right). Image: Katelin Butler

Twenty-eight emerging architects have been shortlisted for the 2018 Dulux Study Tour. The coveted travelling scholarship is awarded annually to five individuals, who are no more than ten years from graduation, for the contributions to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement. 

In 2018, winners will visit London, Berlin and, for the first time, Milan. Participants will be granted first-hand experience of each city’s best architectural sites and practices. 

The shortlisted entrants will now proceed to stage two of the selection process, in which they will be required to submit an employer reference, CV and portfolio of works. 

On the shortlist are:

Evie Blackman – Bild Architecture + Hinge Architects

Kim Bridgland – Edition Office

Ryan Brown – Kerry Hill Architects

Phil Burn – Matt Gibson Architecture + Design

Jessica Edwards – NT Government – Design Office

Leah Gallagher – Kin Architects

Steve Hunt – Owen Architecture

Nancy Ji – Bates Smart Architects

Phuong Le – MPA Construction Group

Amy Learmonth – O’Neill Architecture

Yuri Leong-Maish – YL Architecture

Jason Licht – Cumulus Studio

Adam Markowitz – Self employed

Carly McMahon – Liminal Studio

Jennifer McMaster – Trias

Yvonne Meng – Circle Studio Architects

Natalie Miles – Austin Maynard Architects

Phillip Nielsen – Regional Design Service

Joseph O’Meara – BVN

Viet Pham – Pham Tuan Viet Architect

Christopher Schofield – Studio Schofield

Tamarind Taylor – Conrad Gargett

Rebekah Verrier – Bence Mulcahy

Elizabeth Walsh – Cumulus Studio

Rebecca Whan – Jackson Teece

Alexandra Wilson – Andrew Burges Architects

Emily Wombwell – SJB

Dirk Yates – m3architecture

The shortlisted entrants were selected by a jury comprising Richard Kirk (chair and national president of the Australian Institute of Architectus), Jennifer Cunich (CEO, Australian Institute of Architects), Richard Hansen and Natalie Ruuska (Dulux representatives) and Adam Pustola (past winner of the Dulux Study Tour).

The Dulux Study Tour is a collaborative initiative between Dulux, the Australian Institute of Architects and EmAGN and supported by ArchitectureAU.com. To read Houses magazine editor Katelin Butler’s coverage of the 2017 tour, go here.

More news

Most read