Endorsed by

2018 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-nine entries and two emerging practices received commendations in the 2018 Houses Awards.

New House Under 200 m2

Bruny Island Hideaway (Tas) – Maguire and Devine Architects

Old Waratah Road House (Vic) – Michael Chang and Bridget Crowe

Tess and JJ’s House (Vic) – Po-Co Architecture

New House Over 200 m2

Blinco Street House (WA) – Philip Stejskal Architecture

The Books House (NSW) – Luigi Rosselli Architects

Coastal Garden House (NSW) – Neeson Murcutt Architects

Fitzroy Lane House (Vic) – Kennedy Nolan

Lune de Sang Pavilion (NSW) – CHROFI

Thoma House (NSW) – Candalepas Associates

House Alteration and Addition Under 200 m2

Bolt Hole (NSW) – Panov Scott Architects

Laneway House (NSW) – Jon Jacka Architects

Monash Road House (Qld) – Zuzana and Nicholas

House Alteration and Addition Over 200 m2

B and B Residence (Qld) – Hogg and Lamb

Curatorial House (NSW) – Arent and Pyke and Luke Moloney Architecture

Italianate House (NSW) – Renato D’Ettorre Architects

King Bill (Vic) – Austin Maynard Architects

Palmerston St (WA) – Vittino Ashe

Woollahra Terrace (NSW) – Neeson Murcutt Architects

Apartment or Unit

Cleveland Rooftop (NSW) – SJB

Nightingale 1 (Vic) – Breathe Architecture

North Perth Townhouse (WA) – Simon Pendal Architect

Garden or Landscape

Courtney Courtyard (Vic) – Miniscape Projects

Elm Lawn (NSW) – CAB Consulting


Bruny Island Hideaway (Tas) – Maguire and Devine Architects

Cleveland Rooftop (NSW) – SJB

Springhill House (Vic) – Lovell Burton Architecture

House in a Heritage Context

1 of 16 (NSW) – Panov Scott Architects

Fitzroy House (Vic) – Rob Kennon Architect

North Melbourne Terrace (Vic) – Matt Gibson Architecture and Design

Emerging Practice

MODO Architecture


See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.



Published online: 27 Jul 2018
Images: Benjamin Hosking, Bo Wong, Brett Boardman, Christopher Frederick Jones, Derek Swalwell, Felix Forest, Jason Busch, Jon Jacka, Justin Alexander, Michael Chang, Murray Fredericks, Peter Clarke, Rob Maver, Robert Frith, Simone Bossi, Tatjana Plitt, Toby Scott, Virginia Cummins


Houses, August 2018

More award

See all
Manatj Park (Kings Square), Perth City Link by Plan E Landscape Architects with Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects and Lyons Architects Shortlist revealed: 2019 Australian Urban Design Awards

Fifty-two entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 edition of the Australian Urban Design Awards.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. ‘Sensitive’ and ‘tactile’: The winners of the 2019 Houses Awards announced

A 110-metre-long shed has been named Australian House of the Year at the 2019 Houses Awards, announced on Friday 26 July.

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill. 2019 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

Daylesford Longhouse by Partners Hill is winner of the award for Australian House of the Year in the 2019 Houses Awards.

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects. 2019 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The Garden Bunkie by Reddog Architects is the winner of the award for Sustainability in the 2019 Houses Awards.