2018 National Architecture Awards: National Commendation for Educational Architecture

Highgate Primary School New Teaching Building by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects Educational Architecture: National Commendation Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The project includes the addition of four primary and four preprimary classrooms at the state-listed historic school site and provides for a variety of experiences, opening views to the surrounding streets and the distant city while allowing an intimacy in literally tracking and mapping direct sunlight, the winter solstice and the beginning and end of the school year. It gives students new ways of seeing their broader environment and sustainability, by developing an educational tool based on light, colour and pattern. The jury was impressed by the way the architects have shifted the primary education model within typically rigid departmental guidelines.


Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects
Project Team
Adrian Iredale (project director), Finn Pedersen (design director), Martyn Hook (design team member), Mary McAree (project graduate of architecture), Tom See Hoo, Nikki Ross (documentation architects), Rebecca Angus (documentation graduate of architecture), Rebecca Hawkett, Fred Chan, Craig Nener, Thomas Forbes, Leo Showell (graduates of architecture)
Acoustic consultant Gabriels Environmental Design
Art Coordinator Maggie Baxter
Artist Paul Caporn
Builder Broad Construction Services
Building surveyor Milestone Certifiers
Cost consultant Ralph Beattie Bosworth
Electrical consultant BEST Consultants
Hydraulic consultant Wood and Grieve Engineers, Hocking Heritage Studio
Landscape consultant 4Landscape Studio
Mechanical consultant Stevens McGann Willcock and Copping
Program consultant Perfect Project Planning
Structural and civil engineer Prichard Francis
Surveyor Landsurveys
Site Details
Location Perth,  WA,  Australia
Site type Urban
Project Details
Status Built
Category Education, Public / commercial
Type Schools
Related topics

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site