2018 National Architecture Awards: National Award for Small Project Architecture

Cottesloe Lobby and Landscape by Simon Pendal Architect National Award for Small Project Architecture Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Cottesloe Lobby and Landscape is a sensitive reworking of the public entrance to a 1970s beachside residential tower in suburban Cottesloe, Perth. The consideration of the entry sequence begins outside the site with material palette references to the coastal landscape. The overall effect is one that binds the project to its place of sand and salt water.

A generous public contribution is made through the brick textured plaza mediating engagement with the street. In time, the dappled light that will fall through the canopy of the centrally planted feature tree will subtly mark the first threshold. The sand- coloured brick wedge plaza uses English bond and narrows down toward the concrete canopy seemingly floating above standings of stainless steel tubes. A turn of direction and the resident is presented with the reconsidered vaulted entry lobby, where great care has been taken to seamlessly resolve the threshold as an extension of the external materials abutting the original work deeper in the plan.

The jury was impressed by the rigour of thought shown in this delightful reworking of the engagement between the old and the new, the tower and the ground. The possibilities of thresholds and materiality as generators of experience are successfully explored here.


Simon Pendal Architect
Builder Kelly Building
Cost consultant RBB
Electrical BEST Consultants
Engineer Atelier JV
Landscape Carrier and Postmus Architects
Site Details
Project Details
Status Built
Category Landscape / urban, Public / commercial
Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site