Endorsed by

2018 National Architecture Awards: Residential Architecture – Houses (New) Commendation

Compound House by March Studio Residential Architecture – Houses (New): National Commendation Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Compound House is a home that astutely reflects and celebrates its owners’ personalities and interests. Exposing the oversized steel construction is a nod to the client’s own involvement in the steel industry; a prized car collection is carefully integrated into the design, as is the client’s eclectic art collection; and a fireman’s pole is a playful alternative route to the basement. A characterful copper screen with an innovative clip system, prototyped in the March Studio workshop, shields the upper level that hovers above a landscaped terrain. In a relatively conservative street in Melbourne’s bayside, this house proudly stands out.

For more coverage, read Christine Phillips’s project review from Architecture Australia Mar/Apr 2018.


March Studio
Melbourne, Vic, Australia
Project Team
Rodney Eggleston, Garth Ancher, Julian Canterbury, Jenny Kan, Jaime Levin, Toby McElwaine, Julien Ybert, Lewis Edwards
Builder CBD Contracting Group
Building surveyor PLP Building Surveyors and Consultants
Engineer Co-Struct Structural and Civil Engineers
Landscape consultant C. O. S. Design
Services consultant NJM Design
Town planner Tract Consultants
Site details
Site type Suburban
Category Residential buildings
Type Houses, Residential
Project Details
Status Built
Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site