2018 National Architecture Awards: The Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design

Darling Harbour Transformation by Hassell / Hassell and Populous Urban Design: The Walter Burley Griffin Award Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

The reinvention of Darling Harbour is a significant moment in Sydney’s urban transformation. Long past its 1980s heyday, the precinct had become tired and congested, with limited visual or physical appeal. Although this is one of the city’s most visited public places, the redevelopment sought to enhance the urban experience – not just for tourists, but for residents and workers. The new design is based on a deceptively simple urban proposition that carves a wide concourse link, fundamentally changing and enhancing patterns of movement through the city and connecting Chinatown to the harbour in an intuitive way. This project has repaired and extended parks and landscapes. It has provided new water features and spaces for events, performance and cultural and civic activities. The precinct has become a quality urban landscape. Large-scale artwork is meaningfully integrated, embedded in urban forms as an enjoyable public cultural offer. Links to parts of the city that touch the precinct have been enhanced. Pedestrian, cycle and public transport connections have been improved and challenging urban conditions (including under road/rail flyovers) have been transformed into a surprisingly airy public realm. The precinct feels vital, engaging and safe. It has been given a clarity that previously evaded it. This is a true urban project of city scale, which will have an important impact on the future of the inner city.


Project Team
Ken Maher (design architect), Angus Bruce (principal in charge), Glenn Scott, Richard Breslin (design architects), Phillipa Byrne, Jason Cuffe, Caitrin Daly, Georgia Darling, Dana Gopffarth, Christoph Kaufmann, Matthew Mackay, Louise Pearson, Jo Picton, Frank Smith, Stephen Tan (urban design team members)
Builder Lendlease
Site Details
Project Details
Status Built
Category Landscape / urban
Related topics

More award

See all
The Queensland Architecture Medallion:
Mon Repos Turtle Centre by Kirk. Turtle conservation centre wins top honour at Queensland Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 Queensland Architecture Awards on 9 July.

Phoenix Central Park by Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects. Durbach Block Jaggers, John Wardle Architects win highest honour at 2020 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the NSW awards via a live broadcast on 3 July.

Salisbury Community Hub by Hassell. 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards on 2 July.

Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects with Advanced Timber Concepts Studio. 2020 WA Architecture Awards

A sustainable timber building that draws of regional community spirit and a history of Indigenous AFL players has taken out the top honour at the …

Most read

Latest on site