2018 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize: Melonie Bayl-Smith RAIA (Bijl Architecture) 2018 National Prizes Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

As an exemplary leader for the architecture profession in the broadest sense, Melonie Bayl-Smith has excelled in practice, education, research and policy development over a sustained period. Her leadership in gender equity is particularly evident through her mentoring, advocacy and acting as an exceptional role model for many students, graduates and emerging architects.

She directs her own architecture practice Bijl Architecture, is an elected member of the NSW Architects Registration Board and has been an Australian Institute of Architects Chapter Councillor in the New South Wales chapter. Melonie has maintained a substantial commitment to excellence in architectural education as an adjunct professor at the University of Technology Sydney School of Architecture. As a member of Women on Boards, Melonie has advocated for improving women’s representation on boards by regularly speaking on this at various industry and non-industry events.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

Melonie has been involved with the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) since 2005, where she has been an active contributor through mentoring. In 2010 she received the NAWIC International Women’s Day travelling scholarship for her BuildAbility research project, which investigated the future of construction education across Australasia and on an international basis.

Melonie is a worthy recipient of the 2018 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize and the jury looks forward to seeing her advocacy for gender equity continue in the future.


Richard Kirk LFRAIA (Chair) – President, Australian Institute of Architects and Director, Kirk

Ksenia Totoeva RAIA – 2017 EmAGN President and Architect, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer

Chantelle Fry – 2017 SONA Vice President

Michael Smith RAIA – 2017 Gender Equity Committee Co-Chair and Director and architect, Atelier Red and Black

Related topics

More award

See all
Bendigo Hospital Project by Oculus with Paul Thompson 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards announced

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Cloud Cottage by Takt Studio. 2019 NSW Country Division Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has revealed the winners of the 2019 edition of the NSW Country Division Awards.

Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. Shortlist revealed: 2019 National Architecture Awards

Buildings that demonstrate the value of architecture through public benefit and commitments to social and environmental sustainability make up the shortlist of the 2019 National …

Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site