2018 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize: Melonie Bayl-Smith RAIA (Bijl Architecture) 2018 National Prizes Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

As an exemplary leader for the architecture profession in the broadest sense, Melonie Bayl-Smith has excelled in practice, education, research and policy development over a sustained period. Her leadership in gender equity is particularly evident through her mentoring, advocacy and acting as an exceptional role model for many students, graduates and emerging architects.

She directs her own architecture practice Bijl Architecture, is an elected member of the NSW Architects Registration Board and has been an Australian Institute of Architects Chapter Councillor in the New South Wales chapter. Melonie has maintained a substantial commitment to excellence in architectural education as an adjunct professor at the University of Technology Sydney School of Architecture. As a member of Women on Boards, Melonie has advocated for improving women’s representation on boards by regularly speaking on this at various industry and non-industry events.

Melonie has been involved with the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) since 2005, where she has been an active contributor through mentoring. In 2010 she received the NAWIC International Women’s Day travelling scholarship for her BuildAbility research project, which investigated the future of construction education across Australasia and on an international basis.

Melonie is a worthy recipient of the 2018 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize and the jury looks forward to seeing her advocacy for gender equity continue in the future.


Richard Kirk LFRAIA (Chair) – President, Australian Institute of Architects and Director, Kirk

Ksenia Totoeva RAIA – 2017 EmAGN President and Architect, Tonkin Zulaikha Greer

Chantelle Fry – 2017 SONA Vice President

Michael Smith RAIA – 2017 Gender Equity Committee Co-Chair and Director and architect, Atelier Red and Black

Related topics

More award

See all
The Queensland Architecture Medallion:
Mon Repos Turtle Centre by Kirk. Turtle conservation centre wins top honour at Queensland Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 Queensland Architecture Awards on 9 July.

Phoenix Central Park by Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects. Durbach Block Jaggers, John Wardle Architects win highest honour at 2020 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the NSW awards via a live broadcast on 3 July.

Salisbury Community Hub by Hassell. 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of the 2020 South Australian Architecture Awards on 2 July.

Pingelly Recreation and Cultural Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects with Advanced Timber Concepts Studio. 2020 WA Architecture Awards

A sustainable timber building that draws of regional community spirit and a history of Indigenous AFL players has taken out the top honour at the …

Most read

Latest on site