2019 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-six projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2019 Houses Awards.

New House Under 200m²

Courted House (NSW) – Breakspear Architects

Princess Street House (Qld) – Owen Architecture

Bellbird Retreat (Qld) – Steendijk

New House over 200m²

Hawthorn House (Vic) – Edition Office

GB House (NSW) – Renato D’Ettorre Architects

Point Lonsdale House (Vic) – Edition Office

Cloister House (WA) – MORQ

Indooroopilly House (Qld) – Owen Architecture and Lineburg Wang

House Alteration and Addition Under 200m²

Balmain Rock (NSW) – Benn and Penna Architecture

Fitzroy Terrace (Vic) – Taylor Knights

Winship House (Qld) – Owen Architecture

Stack St (Qld) – Lineburg Wang

Jacaranda House (Qld) – SP Studio

House Alteration and Addition over 200m²

Woollahra House (NSW) – Nobbs Radford Architects

Light House (NSW) – Neeson Murcutt Architects

Mount Stuart Greenhouse (Tas) – Bence Mulcahy

Apartment or Unit

Palazzo Marcello (Vic) – Freadman White in collaboration with Anon Studio

Garden or Landscape

Daylesford Longhouse (Vic) – Partners Hill


Harriet House (Qld) – Bligh Graham Architects

Brick and Gable House (Vic) – Breathe Architecture

Picard (WA) – David Barr Architects in association with Ross Brewin Architect

Bay Guarella House (NSW) – Peter Stutchbury Architecture

House in a Heritage Context

Woollahra House (NSW) – Nobbs Radford Architects

The Bank, Vaughan (Vic) – Maria Danos Architecture

Chimney House (NSW) – Arque

Mount Stuart Greenhouse (Tas) – Bence Mulcahy

Emerging Practice

Retallack Thompson

Breakspear Architects

See full image galleries of all the winning and shortlisted projects here.

Related topics

More award

See all
Bendigo Hospital Project by Oculus with Paul Thompson 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards announced

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Cloud Cottage by Takt Studio. 2019 NSW Country Division Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has revealed the winners of the 2019 edition of the NSW Country Division Awards.

Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. Shortlist revealed: 2019 National Architecture Awards

Buildings that demonstrate the value of architecture through public benefit and commitments to social and environmental sustainability make up the shortlist of the 2019 National …

Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site