2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

Nine awards and two commendations were handed out at an announcement in Dubai attended by the Institute’s national president Helen Lochhead, international chapter chair Samantha Cotterell, awards chair Annelise Tiller, and commissioner general Expo 2020 Justin McGowan.

The awards winners range from a hotel celebrating Chinese culture in a preserved a 2,000-year old forest to an open air university in Singapore.

Cotterell said, “These projects from our international members of the Institute range from large scale commercial developments to small and poetic public works.

“They demonstrate the vision and the talent of our members of the Australian architecture profession, who courageously and ambitiously set out to lend their voice to a global architectural conversation.
“These projects are a proud representation of the growing international presence of our design professionals.”

The winners are:

Public Architecture


Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) – Studio Milou


Christchurch Justice and Emergency Services Precinct (New Zealand) – Cox Architecture, Warren and Mahoney, Opus Architecture

Urban Design


Kunshan Hyper Complex (China) – BAU Brearley Architects and Urbanists

Educational Architecture


NTU Learning Hub ‘The Arc’ (Singapore) – Richard Kirk Architect with DCA Architects

Commercial Architecture


Amanyangyun (China) – Kerry Hill Architects

Interior Architecture


B:Hive, Smales Farm (New Zealand) – BVN in association with Jasmax

Residential Architecture - Houses (Alterations and Additions)


Goh House (Singapore) – Studio Milou

Small Project Architecture


Chapel in Venice (Italy) – Sean Godsell Architects

Somewhere Other (Italy and Australia) – John Wardle Architects



Le Nouveau Carreau du Temple, Paris (France) – Studio Milou


Amanyangyun (China) – Kerry Hill Architects

More award

See all
Australian House of the Year: Cantala Avenue House by ME. Modest architecture with significant impacts: 2020 Houses Awards winners

A modest house in an “unremarkable but incredibly familiar” Gold Coast suburb has clinched the top prize in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Courtyard House for Fabprefab (NSW) by Chrofi with Fabprefab, New House Under 200 m². 2020 Houses Awards: Commendations

Twenty-two projects and two emerging practices have received commendations in the 2020 Houses Awards.

Cantala Avenue House by ME. 2020 Houses Awards: Australian House of the Year

The winning project celebrates a simple life and the capacity of modest architecture to impact significantly on the way we live.

Waratah Secondary House by Anthrosite. 2020 Houses Awards: Sustainability

The jury lauded this small, humble project, adding that it “delivers something that we need to see more of in our cities.”

Most read

Latest on site