2019 National Architecture Awards: National Award for Sustainable Architecture

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School by BVN.

Jury citation

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School showcases a holistic approach, where decisions about sustainability are inseparable from the architecture. The project retains the structure of an existing 1970s concrete building – a former Telstra training centre. The linear plan and favourable orientation of the structure were ideally suited to its repurposing as a school.

A mass timber structure of glulam posts and beams, and cross-laminated timber floors, walls, roofs and a beautiful folding stair, is the dominant visible move and provides a significant carbon store. The architects have worked to preserve the timber structure as a finished surface, cleverly integrating services and managing fire safety. The architecture exploits the benefits of timber to wellbeing, applied to a learning environment for children. The use of timber also signals a heartfelt commitment to sustainability.

The plan layout maximizes passive control, with indoor learning areas connecting to generous north-facing outdoor spaces. A high-performance envelope with operable timber doors and windows allows the building to operate effectively in mixed mode. The design delivers demonstrably flexible learning spaces within an architecture that is calm and controlled.

Every experience is a learning opportunity; at Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School, the architecture becomes an educator.

Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Primary School is located in North Strathfield, New South Wales and is built on the land of the Wangal people of the Eora nation.


Project Team
Julian Ashton (principal), Knut Menden (project director), Adriana Haindl, Alan Monckton-Milnes, Barry Cantor, Fiona Young, Jamie Don, Jamie Yoo, Jonathan Capparelli, Kim Small, Lucy Rimmer, Mateusz Sum, Patrik Typpo, Sara Pellegrini, Woramon Chanakitkarnchai
Audiovisual consultant JHA Consulting Engineers
BCA consultant BCA Logic
Certifier Group DLA
DDA Consultant Accessible Building Solutions
Fire engineer Arup
Fire services Olsson Fire and Risk
Hydraulic engineer AJ Whipps Consulting Group, AJ Smith
Mechanical and electrical engineer JHA Consulting Engineers
Planner Robinson Urban Planning
Quantity surveyor Wilde and Woollard
Structural engineer TTW
Superintendent BVN
Traffic consultant PTC
Site Details
Project Details
Status Built
Category Public / commercial
Type Schools



Published online: 7 Nov 2019
Words: 2019 National Awards Jury
Images: Brett Boardman


Architecture Australia, November 2019

Related topics

More award

See all
Will and Co by Alexander and Co. Shortlist revealed: 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards

The shortlist for the 17th annual Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced.

Avli by Tashas by B and S Studio. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Hospitality Design

In the Hospitality Design category of the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards 45 projects have been shortlisted.

17 Spring Street by Bates Smart. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Installation Design

Installation Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Adelaide Botanic High School by Cox Architecture and DesignInc. 2020 AIDA Shortlist: Public Design

Public Design shortlist for the 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site