2019 National Architecture Awards: National Commendation for Educational Architecture

QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2 by Kirk and Hassell (architects in association).

Jury citation

In QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2, Kirk and Hassell have created a theatre of learning. Their design delivers a dynamic tertiary research and teaching environment on a demanding site. Heritage-listed military structures are carefully absorbed into the overall strategy of the project, consolidating a new creative precinct. An interdisciplinary learning approach informs the design, which uses a sectional strategy of administrative “blocks” and “verandahs” to orient the social spaces towards the east and mitigate the environmental impacts of the adjacent highway to the west. Louvred elevations modulate daylight and consolidate the formal language. Considered detailing supports the dynamic section, allowing engagement between communities of creative research, practice and learning.

QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2 is located in Kelvin Grove, Queensland, and built on the land of the Yugara and Turrbal people.

— QUT Creative Industries Precinct 2 was reviewed by Michael Keniger in Architecture Australia Jan/Feb 2017. Read the review here.


Kirk and Hassell (architects in association)
Project Team
Kirk: Richard Kirk (principal), Karl Eckermann (team leader), Andrew Drummond, Fedor Medek, Paul Chang, Mitch Reed, Sam Clegg, Michael Martin, Erik Sziraki, Hassell: Mark Roehrs (principal), Michael Copeland (team leader), Troy King, Neil Hill, Sam Weiler, Daniel Brown, Lucy Corones, James Mortenson, Miranda Bedford, Andrew Butterworth, Catherine van der Heide, Daniel Loo, Nguyen Luu, Cheong Kuen
Acoustic consultant Arup
Arborist The Tree Doctor
Builder John Holland
Building surveyor Certis
Heritage consultant Riddel Architects
Independent audit consultant Green Leaf Engineers
Landscape architect Hassell
Occupational health and safety and DDA/accessibility consultant McKenzie Group
Quantity surveyor Rider Levett Bucknall
Signage Lat 27
Structural, facade, civil, services and fire engineer Aurecon
Town planner Humphreys Reynolds Perkins
Site details
Category Commercial / public buildings
Type Schools
Project Details
Status Built
Related topics

More award

See all
Blacksmith Lake Mulwala by The Stella Collective. Winners revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

The winners of the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards were announced at a ceremony in Melbourne on 12 November.

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Hall of Fame

Cumulus Inc. by Pascale Gomes-McNabb.

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil. 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards: Best Installation Design

The Magic Box by Liminal Objects with Van Tuil.