Endorsed by

2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

Australian Institute of Architects 2019 National Prizes
Leadership in Sustainability Prize: Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living

Jury citation

The Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living has been one of Australia’s pivotal research and innovation hubs, focused on driving our sector towards not only more sustainable development, but also a globally competitive low-carbon future. The Cooperative Research Centre’s advancement of knowledge through research and education has included training more than one hundred higher- degree research students, developing a much-needed evidence base for policy and planning, and growing an extensive partner network with sustainable built environment peak bodies, ensuring that the research undertaken has real-world impact at building and precinct scales.

From working with councils, property developers and utilities companies to enable better developments and faster approvals to establishing low-carbon programs for schools and businesses, the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s leadership in the field has been well recognized. What impressed the jury in particular was its ongoing policy work, including proposed revisions to the building sustainability index, and its collective advocacy work, which has included a number of forums and publications covering local renewables, cooling cities and low-carbon homes for low-income households. The Cooperative Research Centre, in a reasonably short time, has touched a large number of those in the built environment in a positive way.


James Legge FRAIA (Chair) – Director, Six Degrees

Jennie Officer RAIA – Director, Officer Woods Architects

Stephen Choi RAIA – Executive Director, Living Future Institute of Australia

Isabelle Toland – Director, Aileen Sage Architects

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site