Endorsed by

2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

Australian Institute of Architects 2019 National Prizes
Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize: Helen Lochhead

Jury citation

The jury has awarded the 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize to Professor Helen Lochhead for her outstanding and determined individual contribution to the advancement of gender equity in architecture, and her leadership across all criteria: contribution to education, research, advocacy, policy development and community engagement.

The first female dean of the Faculty of the Built Environment at the University of New South Wales, Helen has consistently championed the advancement of women through her professional activities over a sustained period. With a reach of more than three thousand staff and graduates, she has used her leadership to actively support women though policy, advocacy and mentorship. In 2017, Helen pledged to ensure 50 percent of leadership roles in the architectural profession would be held by women by 2025; this year, she met this goal within the faculty’s leadership team and advisory council.

Helen’s contribution is exemplified by the UNSW Engaging Women in the Built Environment program, a personal initiative that profiles more than twenty women each year and has connected more than one thousand women in the industry, creating new partnerships and job opportunities.

In her role as New South Wales deputy government architect, she introduced programs to support women to stay in the workforce. As a member of the Australian Institute of Architects / National Association of Women in Construction Mentor Program and through her own private practice, Helen has mentored students, staff and colleagues in Australia and overseas.

Combining her teaching, research, practice and advisory roles, Helen uses her profile to facilitate education opportunities for women in architecture, including establishing scholarships and prizes, and supporting mentoring programs and work placements.

Helen is a most deserving recipient of this 2019 prize, and we congratulate her on this significant recognition.


Ken Maher AO LFRAIA (Chair) – Immediate Past President’s delegate and former President, Australian Institute of Architects | Fellow, Hassell

Kellie McGivern – Chair, National Gender Equity Committee, Australian Institute of Architects | Senior Project Manager, Donald Cant Watts Corke

Thom McKenzie RAIA – President, EmAGN, Australian Institute of Architects | Director, Winwood McKenzie

Amarinda Bazeley – National Vice President, SONA, Australian Institute of Architects | Architectural Assistant, Cathi Colla Architects

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site