Endorsed by

Australia’s best architectural kitchens celebrated in 2020 Smeg Tour competition shortlist

The shortlist for the 2020 Smeg Tour competiton, which rewards outstanding architectural kitchen design, has been announced.

The winners will receive return flights to Venice from Australia, and embark on a tour that takes in both the Venice Architecture Biennale and Smeg’s headquarters in Guastalla, a town in Reggio Emilia where the company was founded in 1948.

Elm and Stone by DKO Architecture.

Elm and Stone by DKO Architecture.

Image: courtesy Smeg

The shortlist comprises a number of new kitchen projects, that included a Smeg product, completed between January 2018 and August 2019.

Paul Enright, national commercial manager of Smeg Australia, said, “As a company with a strong heritage in architectural design, the Smeg Tour competition is always a highlight on our calendar.

“This year was no different, with an outstanding pool of projects showcasing high quality design incorporating Smeg appliances. All projects, and in particular the shortlisted entries, showed innovative yet functional kitchen design and clever use of materials and space.”

Little Hutt House by EPH Studio.

Little Hutt House by EPH Studio.

Image: courtesy Smeg

Entries will be evaluated by a jury comprising past tour participants Anita Panov (Panovscott Architects), John Wardle (John Wardle Architects), David Karotkin (Carabiner) and Janet Holmes a Court (philanthropist and architecture supporter)

In 2018 the winning entries were Myrtle Tree House by MAKE Architecture, Jac by Panovscott Architects, Henry Street House by Eugene Cheah Architecture and 41 Birmingham by SJB.

For more information, visit the Smeg website.

The 2020 Smeg Tour competition shortlist

  • Bondi Apartment – Ricci Bloch Architecture and Interiors
  • Brisbane Riverbank House – Owen Architecture
  • Camp Hill Cottage – Owen Architecture
  • Elm and Stone – DKO Architecture
  • Lilyfield House – Studio203
  • Little Hutt House – EPH Studio
  • Manchester Terrace – Retallack Thompson
  • Sandy Point House – Kennedy Nolan
  • Scotland Island House – Sam Crawford Architects
  • Winship Cottage – Owen Architecture

More news

See all
Jordan Domjahn, winner of the 2019 Australian Design Graduate of the Year, Madeline Lester Excellence Award. Nominations open for DIA Graduate of the Year Awards program

The Design Institute of Australia’s Graduate of the Year Awards celebrate and support exceptional young Australian designers.

627 Chapel St. by Cox Architecture. Forrest Hill urban ‘island’ set for transformation

Cox Architecture’s design of a corporate tower in South Yarra is influenced by the local council’s 20-year-old vision for the surrounding precinct.

Beaconsfield housing for WPI by Studio Bright. Studio Bright’s affordable homes for vulnerable women approved

A proposed four-unit housing project designed by Studio Bright will provide vulnerable older women permanent, secure homes.

University of Melbourne, End of Trip Facilities by Searle x Waldron Architecture. ‘Making the city is a collective act’

A one-day symposium will see 16 Australian projects presented in pairs, which will highlight the architect’s role as a negotiate within an existing environment.

Most read

Latest on site