2012 AAA Awards: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

Leadership in Sustainability Prize: Rob Adams and the City Design Division 2013 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Jury citation

Rob Adams.

Rob Adams.

The City of Melbourne has made remarkable progress in advocating a sustainable future and challenging the sprawling metropolis through comprehensive research and leadership. The strong and consistent voice of this leadership has been Rob Adams.

The City’s 2004 “Places for People,” which put science behind urban design, led to real amenity, wellbeing and sustainable outcomes. In 2009, their “Transforming Australian Cities” report re-established the debate about the future form of cities in the light of population growth and climate change.

The City has consistently advocated for action on environmental issues, both in public forums and professionally to national and international audiences. It has put into place master and strategic plans to guide the management of Melbourne’s green and urban infrastructure to meet rigorous heritage and environmental guidelines. These include the recent Total Watermark strategy, the Zero Net Emissions by 2020 target, the Climate Change Adaptation Strategy and the Greenhouse Action Plan.

The City of Melbourne’s works program is exemplified by recent intensive ESD projects including Council House 2, Queen Victoria Market solar panel installation, East Melbourne Library, the Royal Park Wetlands and Flagstaff Gardens Bowls Club – all projects that have broken new ground in water reclamation, energy generation, passive and active airconditioning, green roofs and reuse.

In community engagement, policy development, advocacy and leadership, the City of Melbourne’s Rob Adams is a worthy recipient of the Leadership in Sustainability Prize for this year.

Further coverage of the awards can be found at Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards.



Published online: 22 Mar 2012
Words: Leadership in Sustainability Prize jury


Architecture Australia, March 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Balwyn Park Tennis and Community Facility by MGS Architects. 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards shortlist

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Queensland University of Technology, Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct by Wilson Architects and Henning Larsen Architects, Architects in Association Queensland Regional Architecture Awards 2020

The Queensland Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects announced the winners of its Regional Awards via a virtual ceremony on Friday 8 May.

John Wardle. 'Architect’s architect’ John Wardle wins 2020 Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced winners of the 2020 National Prizes via a live broadcast.

Balnarring Beach House, Mornington Peninsula,
Victoria (1997). 2020 National Prizes: Gold Medal

The Australian Institute of Architects 2020 Gold Medal is awarded to John Wardle.

Most read

Latest on site