NSW (AIA) heritage register refocus

The NSW Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects refocuses its heritage register to protect awarded buildings.

The Australian Institute of Architects NSW Chapter has renamed its Register of 20th Century Buildings of Significance to The Australian Institute of Architects Register of Significant Architecture to sharpen its focus on preserving buildings of merit, in particular, award-winning buildings. It will now include all buildings awarded the Sulman Medal for Public Architecture and the top (named) awards for residential (Wilkinson Award) and commercial architecture (Harry Seidler Award). “Apart from the Sydney Opera House, there is currently very little statutory protection for more recent award winning architecture, including the 25 year/enduring architecture award winning buildings,” says Dr Noni Boyd, Heritage Office at the NSW Chapter of the Institute.

“The fact that a building was a past architectural award winner has been recognized by the Institute through its ongoing listing process, but that’s often overlooked in consideration of alterations or demolition as part of the development approval process.” There are currently over 3,000 buildings by New South Wales architects on the Institute’s register. The Institute will now be advocating for the listing of all its awarded buildings on local government heritage schedules, and buildings that win both the Sulman Medal and the Enduring Architecture Award will be eligible for nomination to the State Heritage Register.

Under threat is Kuring-gai College of Advanced Education (1968–72) by J.W. Thomson, NSW Government Architect.

Under threat is Kuring-gai College of Advanced Education (1968–72) by J.W. Thomson, NSW Government Architect.

Image: Max Dupain

While the moral rights of living architects are recognized in the Copyright Act, this, too, is often ignored by building owners and developers seeking alter significant buildings. “The policy shift aims for much greater recognition for the state’s award wining architectural heritage, and should also encourage both sustainable adaptive reuse and an increased consideration of the original design intent. The recent works to the Opera House provide a good model as to how this might be achieved.”

Kuring-gai College of Advanced Education (1968–72) by J.W. Thomson NSW (Government Architect), project architect David Turner; documentation (Allen Jack + Cottier); landscape architect (Bruce Mackenzie) received the Institute’s Merit Award (1972), Sulman Award (1978) and an Enduring Architecture Award (2005). “There is a DA in at present, though the Statement of Heritage Impact did not pick up that the building had received (not one, but) three architecture awards, including the Enduring Architecture Award. Neither the project architect nor the landscape architect (David Don Turner and Bruce Mackenzie) have been consulted during this round of proposals, according to the NSW Chapter Heritage Officer Noni Boyd.”

Read Dr Cameron Logan’s article on the legacy of NSW school buildings from the postwar period.

Classroom to Campus Symposium details.

Related topics

More news

See all
Gene Sherman. Philanthropist, patron Gene Sherman receives honorary doctorate

Architecture and arts patron Gene Sherman has received an honorary doctorate from the University of New South Wales for her services to art and design.

The 5 Uhrig Road development by BVN. BVN proposes three-tower development in Western Sydney

A site at the edge of Sydney Olympic Park, formerly zoned light industrial, will be home to more than 500 apartments.

The Greater Shepparton Secondary College by Gray Puksand. Gray Puksand designs high school with ‘neighbourhood’ feel for Shepparton

A new school in the regional Victorian city of Shepparton will house students from all four of the city’s existing high schools.

The Wimbeldon House, originally known as 22 Parkside, designed by Richard and Su Rogers Architects in 1968, restored by Philip Gumuchdjian and Todd Longstaffe-Gowan in 2015. Australian historian wins Harvard GSD’s Richard Rogers Fellowship

The architectural historian and writer wins a three-month residency in Richard and Su Rogers Architects’ Wimbledon House and a US$10,000 cash prize.