Endorsed by

AILA Awards overhaul

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has revamped its awards program after it underwent its most significant review in more than 30 years. During 2014 and 2015, AILA’s review analysed awards categories, fees, objectives and criteria.

From 2016, the awards will be structured with a chapter/state program held during the first half of the year and a national program during the second half of the year.

Each first entry to the 2016 awards program will be free in order to encourage wide participation in the revamped AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards. A fee of $299 per entry will apply for each subsequent entry, which allows for automatic resubmission into the national awards.

The new categories will be:

  • Category 1: Civic Landscape
  • Category 2: Parks and Open Space
  • Category 3: Infrastructure
  • Category 4: Cultural Heritage
  • Category 5: Land Conservation
  • Category 6: Rural and Agriculture
  • Category 7: Tourism
  • Category 8: Urban Design
  • Category 9: Research, Policy and Communication
  • Category 10: Communities
  • Category 11: Gardens
  • Category 12: International (offered only at national level and not state level).

The chair of the National Awards Review Taskforce, Adam Hunter, explained more about AILA’s new National Landscape Architecture Awards program in a video.

To learn more about changes to the awards program visit aila.org.au/awards.

More news

See all
University of Melbourne, End of Trip Facilities by Searle x Waldron Architecture. ‘Making the city is a collective act’

A one-day symposium will see 16 Australian projects presented in pairs, which will highlight the architect’s role as a negotiate within an existing environment.

Gibbons Street by DKO Architecture. Social housing tower approved as Sydney faces ‘critical shortage’

A DKO-designed social housing tower will provide “an important piece of social infrastructure” in Sydney’s Redfern.

The winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre by Grimshaw, Andrew Burges Architects and McGregor Coxall. Ring-shaped aquatic centre design revealed after year of secrecy

A funding dispute kept the winning design for Parramatta Aquatic Centre under wraps for more than a year.

WA's first CLT office building by Harris Jenkins Architects. WA’s first timber-framed office tower approved

The six-storey building, designed by Harris Jenkins Architects, will comprise five office floors above a bar and restaurant.

Most read

Latest on site