Alice Hampson joins Queensland Heritage Council

The Queensland Heritage Council has appointed its new members for 2017, with the first ever majority female membership.

Architect, historian and contributing editor to Architecture Australia, Alice Hampson will join the council in 2017.

Hampson has extensive experience in the built environment, research and heritage conservation.

She is the awards director and a fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects, and is the Institute’s representative on the Queensland Board of Architects.

Architectural historian Ian Sinnamon has also been appointed to the Council. Sinnamon was a lecturer at the University of Queensland’s Department of Architecture for more than 30 years and has provided advice to the Queensland government and local government on heritage issues.

“Architectural historians Alice Hampson and Ian Sinnamon will provide a valuable contribution to the QHC with their expert knowledge of Queensland’s built environment history,” said Steven Miles, Queensland Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection.

Queensland Heritage Council will have three new members and eight continuing members in 2017, in addition to a new chairperson, Debra-Lee (Debbie) Best. Best, who has previously served as deputy chair of the Queensland Heritage Council (QHC), is the second female chair in the QHC’s history.

Other 2017 Queensland Heritage Council members include Judy Brien (barrister, Planning and Environment Court), Kathy Davis (non-profit executive, journalist and fundraiser), Valerie Dennis (continuing member, National Trust of Australia (Queensland representative), William Marklew (current member and Queensland Council of Unions representative), Katie McConnel (professional historian), Tanya Neville (Economic Development Queensland), Judith Peters (Local Government Association of Queensland), Anthony Ross (current member and state and regional director for Queensland Cane Growers Organisation and Canegrowers Mackay Area) and George Seymour (deputy mayor of the Fraser Coast Regional Council).

Related topics

More news

See all
The Western Pavilion and precinct entry of the Upper Australia exhibit at Taronga Zoo by Lahznimmo Architects and Spackman, Mossop and Michaels. Design for new Australian exhibit at Taronga Zoo

Lahznimmo Architects and Spackman, Mossop and Michaels have designed a new exhibit for Taronga Zoo for Australian animals in their natural habitats.

Central Place Sydney by Fender Katsalidis and Skidmore Ownings and Merrill. Fender Katsalidis and SOM design $2.5 billion two-tower central Sydney development

Fender Katsalidis and Skidmore Owings and Merrill have won a design competition for a $2.5 billion Sydney development.

251 Wickham Street by Bureau Proberts. ‘A new type of office building’ for Brisbane's Fortitude Valley

Bureau Proberts’s design for a 28-storey Brisbane tower is intended to provide a “striking alternative” to the surrounding commercial buildings of the CBD and the …

Perth Concert Hall by Howlett and Bailey Architects. ‘Beautifully poured’ brutalist Perth concert hall to be redeveloped

The Western Australian government has pledged $30 million to redevelop the brutalist Perth Concert Hall.

Most read

Latest on site