Australian all-stars come together for The Architecture Symposium, Sydney

A group of Australia’s most exciting practising architects has been assembled for the 2018 edition of The Architecture Symposium, to be held at the Art Gallery of New South Wales on 28 September.

The day-long forum will include a guest critic, the New York-based writer and former Pritzker Prize juror Karen Stein. The event will focus on outstanding examples of contemporary Australian architecture, with a series of talks by leading practitioners from around the country exploring recently completed and upcoming projects.

The speakers and their presentation subjects are:

Alec Tzannes (Tzannes): Dangrove, NSW, completed 2018

Andrew Burns (Andrew Burns Architecture): Cranbrook School Wolgan Valley Campus, NSW, stage one completed 2017

Andrew Cortese (Grimshaw): 210–220 George Street, NSW, unbuilt

Ed Lippmann (Lippmann Partnership): Emanuel Synagogue, NSW, completed 2018

Gerard Reinmuth (Terroir): Penguin Parade Visitor Centre, Vic, under construction)

Penguin Parade Visitor Centre by Terroir.

Penguin Parade Visitor Centre by Terroir.

Image: Doug and Wolf

Ian McDougall (ARM Architecture): Sydney Opera House Concert Hall Upgrade, NSW, completion due 2020

Ingrid Richards (Richards and Spence): The Calile Hotel Fortitude Valley, Qld, completion due 2018

James Grose (BVN): Australian Embassy Complex, Bangkok, completed 2017

Jennie Officer (Officer Woods Architects): East Pilbara Arts Centre, WA, completed 2016

John Choi (CHROFI): Ian Potter National Conservatory, Australian National Botanic Gardens, ACT, completion due 2020

John Wardle (John Wardle Architects): Ian Potter Southbank Centre, University of Melbourne, Vic, completion due 2018

Melissa Bright (Make Architecture): St Mary’s Coptic Church Kensington, Vic, unbuilt

Neil Durbach (Durbach Block Jaggers): Phoenix Project, NSW, under construction

Phoenix Gallery Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects.

Phoenix Gallery Durbach Block Jaggers and John Wardle Architects.

Image: Durbach Block Jaggers/John Wardle Architects/Khai Liew

Peter Stutchbury (Peter Stutchbury Architecture): Joynton Avenue Creative Centre, NSW, completed 2018

Rachel Neeson (Neeson Murcutt Architects): Juanita Nielsen Community Centre, designed in association with the City of Sydney, NSW, completed 2016

Richard Francis Jones (FJMT): Frank Bartlett Library and Moe Service Centre, Vic, completed 2016

Richard Johnson (Johnson Pilton Walker): Anzac Memorial Centenary Project, designed in collaboration Government Architect NSW, NSW, completion due 2018

Stuart Vokes (Vokes and Peters): talk on the public nature of private dwellings

Thomas Bailey (Room 11): Glenorchy Art and Sculpture Park, Tas, completed 2013

Virginia Kerridge (Virginia Kerridge Architect): M3565 Main Beach Apartments, Qld, completed 2017

William Smart (Smart Design Studio): Rail Operation Centre, NSW, competition due 2018

ANZAC War Memorial by Johnson Pilton Walker and the NSW Government Architect.

ANZAC War Memorial by Johnson Pilton Walker and the NSW Government Architect.

Image: courtesy of the NSW government

The symposium marks the opening of the 2018 Sydney Architecture Festival, which is this year themed around the question, “What makes a building truly great?”

The Architecture Symposium is curated by Wendy Lewin and Angelo Candalepas. Wendy Lewin of Wendy Lewin Architects has undertaken projects spanning multiple sectors including residential, commercial, cultural and educational facilities. She was one of the creative directors for Australia’s exhibition at the 2008 Venice Architecture Biennale and has taught at various universities including The University of Sydney, University of Technology Sydney and Hong Kong University.

Candelapas established Candalepas Associates in 1999. The practice has since won a significant number of awards, including the Australian Institute of Architects’ Sulman Medal for Public Architecture in 2009 and the Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing in 2011, the Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture in 2016 and the Aaron Bolot Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing in 2011 and 2017. In 2016 he was also awarded the Premier’s Award for Architecture in NSW.

For more information, go here.

More news

See all
HOTA Green Bridge by ARM Architecture. ARM Architecture’s HOTA Green Bridge opens

A sculptural bridge designed by ARM Architecture is the newest addition to the Gold Coast’s arts and cultural precinct.

The Wellington mixed-use development by Woods Bagot. Woods Bagot’s ‘transformative’ three-tower project for Perth

A three-tower project near Perth Arena and Yagan Square will be an injection of 155 apartments.

Bamboo Theatre by DnA. Architecture in the age of Aquarius: 2020 APAF highlights

Returning to Brisbane in March, the Asia Pacific Architecture Festival will feature a series of events that explore the relationship between architecture and water.

888 Bourke Street, Zetland by PTW Architects. PTW designs curved mixed-use development in Sydney’s Zetland

The scale of the 180-apartment development designed by PTW Architects would be masked by a curving brick façade.

Most read

Latest on site