Endorsed by

Australian and New Zealand projects shortlisted in WAF awards

The shortlist for the 2013 INSIDE: World Festival of Interiors awards was announced alongside the 2013 World Architecture Festival (WAF) awards shortlist on 3 July in London.

More than thirty Australian and New Zealand projects were shortlisted in the 2013 World Architecture Festival awards:

Completed buildings

Civic and community

Marysville Police Station – Kerstin Thompson Architects
West Kimberley Regional Prison – TAG Architects and Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects, architects in association


Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki (NZ) – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp fjmt + Archimedia (Architects in Association)


Australian Age of Dinosaurs Visitor Centre – Cox Rayner Architects
The National Arboretum – Taylor Cullity Lethlean and Tonkin Zulaikha Greer
The Warratah Studio – studio505


Ballarat Regional Integrated Cancer Centre – Billard Leece Partnership
The Kinghorn Cancer Centre – BVN Donovan Hill

Higher education/research

Kangan Institute, Automotive Centre of Excellence, Stage 2 – Gray Puksand
Knox Innovation, Opportunity and Sustainability Centre (KIOSC) – Woods Bagot
Sunshine Construction Futures – Cox Architecture
Swanston Academic Building, RMIT UniversityLyons
The University of Qld Advanced Engineering Building – Richard Kirk Architect + Hassell
Translational Research Institute – Wilson Architects + Donovan Hill Architects in Association


HOUSE House – Andrew Maynard Architects
Lavender Bay Boatshed – Stephen Collier Architects
The Left-Over-Space House – Cox Rayner Architects, Casey and Rebekah Vallance


387 Tamaki Drive (NZ) – Ian Moore Architects
Aria – MPRDG
Oracle – DBI Design

New and Old

Benson Radiology – Tridente Architects
Te Koputu e the Whanga a Toi: Whakatane Library & Exhibition Centre – Irving Smith Jack Architects


One One One Eagle StreetCox Rayner Architects


Adelaide Desalination Plant and Kauwi Interpretive Centre – Woodhead
Medhurst Winery – Folk Architects


DACA - Dapto Anglican Church Auditorium – Silvester Fuller
St Barnabas Church – Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp


Dallas Brooks Community Primary School – McBride Charles Ryan


Mackelvie Street – RTA Studio


Perth Arena – ARM+CCN
Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade – Neeson Murcutt Architects and City of Sydney
Wanangkura Stadium – ARM Architecture


South Morang Rail Extension – Cox Architecture
Sydney Cruise Terminal – Johnson Pilton Walker Architects


Alexandra Tent House (NZ) – Irving Smith Jack Architects
Point King Residence – Hassell

Landscape Projects

Completed designs – Urban

Prince Alfred Park + Pool Upgrade – City of Sydney and Neeson Murcutt Architects
The Australian Garden – Taylor Cullity Lethlean, Greg Burgess Architects, Kirsten Thompson Architects

Future Projects


Melbourne Girls Grammar School – BVN Donovan Hill


Brisbane Ferry Terminals Post-Flood Recovery – Cox Rayner Architects

Leasure led development

Ice Hotel (NZ) – RTA Studio, Spi.rus Limited Architecture
North Byron Beach Resort Stage 1 – Shane Thompson Architects


Consulting Suites – Shane Thompson Architects

See the full World Architecture Festival shortlist here.
See the Australian and New Zealand projects shortlisted in the INSIDE awards here.
Read a wrap-up of Australia and New Zealand’s shortlisted projects here.

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site