Endorsed by

Australian architecture firms honoured in Singapore Institute of Architects Awards

The Singapore Institute of Architects (SIA) has honoured 27 projects across six categories in the fourth SIA Architectural Design Awards.

Included among the award recipients were 10 projects by Australian architecture firms.

The categories included residential, commercial, institutional, industrial, transport and infrastructure, special and interior architecture.

In addition to the 13 design awards and 14 honourable mentions awarded, two additional awards were also presented for best project constructed under $2 million, awarded to Goodlife! Makan by DP Architects, and building of the year, awarded to Open House by Formwerkz Architects, both located in Singapore.

The judging criteria for the SIA Architectural Design Awards are:

  • Originality and innovation
  • Sensitivity to context
  • Sustainability
  • Response to climate
  • Response to users’ needs, and
  • Elegance of construction and detail

The jury included Richard K. F. Ho (Design Thrust chair / council member at the Singapore Institute of Architects), Jeffrey Huang (head of pillar, architecture and sustainable design at the Singapore University of Technology and Design), Siew Man Kok (chairman/director of MKPL Architects), Wong Yunn Chii (head of the Department of Architecture at the National University of Singapore) and Rocco Yim (executive director of Rocco Design Architects).

The winning projects by Australian architecture firms are:

Residential Projects

Design Award

SkyVille @ Dawson – WOHA Architects

HANA – Kerry Hill Architects

Honourable Mention

Goodwood Residence – WOHA Architects

Commercial Projects

Design Award

Parkroyal On Pickering – WOHA Architects

Honourable Mention

The Lalu Qingdao – Kerry Hill Architects

Institutional Projects

Design Award

Upgrading Of Nanyang Primary School – Studio 505 (design architect), LT&T (local executive architect) and AVID Architects

Honourable Mention

City Of Perth Library ­– Kerry Hill Architects

Special Categories

Design Award

Enabling Village – WOHA Architects

Honourable Mention

Space Asia Hub – WOHA Architects

Interior Architecture Projects

Design Award

Aman Tokyo – Kerry Hill Architects

Honourable Mention

City Of Perth Library – Kerry Hill Architects

Related topics

More news

See all
The Neo200 building in Melbourne. Governments agree on national building standards, but ‘huge amount of work’ ahead

State and federal governments have agreed to a national approach to building reform at an intergovernmental forum in Sydney.

HY William Chan. Australian designer makes Forbes ‘30 under 30’ list

Australian designer HY William Chan has been named on the “30 Under 30 – Asia” list published annually by international business magazine Forbes.

Proposed Port Arthur Hotel by Cumulus Studio. Developers rethink Cumulus Studio’s Port Arthur hotel

Casino operator Federal Group is rethinking its proposal for a luxury hotel designed by Cumulus Studio in Port Arthur.

Hashim Sarkis (left) and Paolo Baratta (right). Venice Biennale 2020 to explore ‘How will we live together?’

Hashim Sarkis, the curator of the 2020 Venice Architecture Biennale, has announced the theme exhibition will be “How will we live together?”

Most read

Latest on site