Australian project among RIBA Award for International Excellence winners

Click to enlarge
Invisible House by Peter Stutchbury Architecture.

Invisible House by Peter Stutchbury Architecture. Image: Michael Nicholson

An Australian project has won a Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Award for International Excellence, along with 20 other projects.

Peter Stutchbury Architecture’s Invisible House received the award, which recognizes the quality of projects on the longlist for the RIBA International Prize.

However, the project missed out on selection for the RIBA Inernational Prize. Six buildings have been selected as finalists for the prize (see list below.)

The RIBA International Prize is a new prize that will be awarded biennially to the most transformative building that demonstrates visionary, innovative thinking, excellence of execution, and makes a distinct contribution to its users and physical context.

Unlike all other RIBA architecture awards, the RIBA International Prize is open to all qualified architects worldwide.

Hundreds of entries were submitted for the RIBA International Prize from 50 countries. 

The RIBA awards committee visited 30 buildings in more than 20 countries. Following the visits, 20 buildings were awarded RIBA Awards for International Excellence, and from these, six buildings were chosen as finalists for the prize.

The Invisible House has taken out a number of accolades locally, including an award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) at the 2014 NSW Architecture Awards and Australian House of the Year at the 2014 Houses Awards.

In September 2015, Peter Stutchbury was awarded the RIBA International Fellowship, which was presented to the NSW-based architect in February this year. 

The six finalists selected for the RIBA International Prize are:

Arquipelago - Contemporary Arts Center (The Azores, Portugal) – Menos é Mais, Arquitectos Associados with João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto

Heydar Aliyev Center (Baku, Azerbaijan) – Zaha Hadid Architects with DiA Holding

Museo Jumex (Mexico City, Mexico)– David Chipperfield Architects with Taller Abierto de Arquitectura y Urbanismo

Ring of Remembrance, International WWI (Arras, France)– Agence d’architecture Philippe Prost

Stormen (Bodø, Norway) – DRDH Architects 

UTEC - Universidad de Ingenieria y Tecnologia (Lima, Peru) – Grafton Architects with Shell Arquitectos

The RIBA International Prize replaced the Lubetkin Prize, which for 13 years awarded the architects who designed the best new building outside the European Union. The award was only open to RIBA members.

The winning building to be announced in December 2016.

The Invisible House is currently listed for sale on Modern House.

More news

Most read