Australian projects win at 2016 International Architecture Awards

Australian projects have been recognized at the Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design’s 2016 International Architecture Awards, the largest and most extensive architecture awards program in the world.

From a shortlist of 370 projects, the Chicago Athenaeum awarded 130 projects from 43 countries, with projects including new buildings, commercial and institutional developments, landscape architecture and urban planning schemes.

The winning projects by Australian architects include Walumba Elders Centre by Iredale Pedersen Hook, The Brewery Yard by Tzannes, Stonehenge Visitor Centre by Denton Corker Marshall, and two unbuilt projects by Hassell – East Perth Power Station and a proposal for the University of Melbourne’s Conservatorium of Music (MCM). Hassell’s MCM proposal was unsuccessful and this week, the University of Melbourne unveiled the winning proposal designed by John Wardle Architects.

Australian-German architectural firm Laboratory for Visionary Architecture (LAVA) received two awards for its projects Kacst Headquarters in Saudi Arabia, which is currently under construction, and Green Climate Fund in Germany, which is yet to be built.

Vietnamese practice Vo Trong Nghia Architects, which designed the Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation’s 2016 Fugitive Structures pavilion, Green Ladder, received awards for four projects. The Fugitive Structures pavilion is currently on display in the SCAF courtyard in Sydney until 10 December.

Across the ditch, New Zealand’s Monk Mackenzie Architects won an award for Canada Street Bridge.

“The selected new buildings and urban planning projects in this year’s edition of the International Architecture Awards demonstrate a new and growing sensitivity to true human-based design and a sympathetic approach to sustainability and the environment,” said Chicago Athenaeum Museum president, Christian Narkiewicz-Laine.

The 2016 International Architecture Awards will be exhibited prior to the Istanbul Design Biennial at the UCTEA Chamber of Architects of Turkey Istanbul Metropolitan Branch Kemankes Caddesi from 2­–30 September. An awards presentation will take place following the opening of the exhibition.

The deadline for entries to the 2017 International Architecture Awards is 1 December 2016.

Related topics

More news

See all
Moreau Kusunoki and Genton's winning design for Powerhouse Parramatta. Green ban threatens new Powerhouse Parramatta

The construction union has placed a green ban on the demolition of two heritage buildings which could put the proposed Powerhouse Parramatta project in jeopardy.

Bondi memorial proposal by Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture and McGregor Westlake Architecture. Architects design memorial to victims of homophobic and transphobic hate crimes

Waverley Council in Sydney has released shortlisted designs for a memorial in Bondi.

Prince Alfred Park, Surry Hills. Draft NSW green space strategy released

Government Architect NSW’s draft design framework outlines ambitious targets for for access to public open space across the state.

Waterfront Brisbane by FJMT and Arkhefield. Two ‘city shaping’ towers for Brisbane's waterfront

A $2.1 billion office development designed by FJMT and Arkhefield will comprise two tower at the edge of Brisbane’s city grid and the river.

Most read

Latest on site