Australians honoured with International Fellowships

Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) honours two Australian architects in its 2015 International Fellowship.

Peter Wilson and Richard Leplastrier, both Australian Gold Medallists, are among eleven non-UK architects from seven countries who will be bestowed the lifetime honour in a special event at RIBA on 3 February 2015. Other notable recipients include two Pritzker Prize laureates, Thom Mayne of Morphosis (2005) and Wang Shu (2012).

Peter Wilson and Julia Bolles-Wilson.

Peter Wilson and Julia Bolles-Wilson.

Image: Thomas Rabsch

Peter Wilson is honoured along with his wife Julia Bolles-Wilson. The duo established their practice Bolles+Wilson in 1980 after studying together at the Architectural Association in London. In 1988, the practice won the competition to design the new city library of Münster in Germany and it has been based there since. Bolles+Wilson have produced extraordinary work for more than thirty years. Most notably, the Luxor Theatre in Rotterdam was shortlisted for the Mies van der Rohe prize in 2001. Both have also taught and lectured around the world. As well as winning the Gold Medal from the Australian Institute of Architects in 2013, Bolles+Wilson are also the recipients of the Gold Medal at the XI International Triennale of Architecture in Cracow, 2009.

Richard Leplastrier

Richard Leplastrier

Image: Anthony Browell

Richard Leplastrier is a seminal figure in Australian architecture. He started his career as an apprentice to Jørn Utzon working at the time of the Sydney Opera House. He also studied under the tutelage of Kenzo Tange and Tomoya Masuda at Kyoto University. The influence of Japanese design and craft is palpably evident in his work along with ancient Aboriginal ideas of connection to the land. Leplastrier is known as a great first-principles thinker. His small but exquisite buildings from the Palm Garden House (1976) to the Design Centre Tasmania (2002) home to the Tasmania Wood Design Collection are a demonstration of these principles. Leplastrier continues to inspire architects through the Glenn Murcutt International Masterclass which has amassed over four hundred alumni from around the world. He was awarded the Gold Medal in 1999.

See the full list of 2015 International Fellowhsips.

More news

See all
205 North Quay by Hassell, New York’s Rex and Brisbane firm Richards and Spence. Winning design for Brisbane waterfront tower unveiled

An international design team comprising Hassell, New York’s Rex and Brisbane firm Richards and Spence has taken out a design competition for a 37-storey tower …

Urban Forest tower in South Brisbane by Koichi Takada Architects. Brisbane tower sprouting 1,000 trees proposed

Koichi Takada Architects has designed a 30-storey tower for South Brisbane that will be home to five times more trees than the nearby park.

The Powerhouse Museum in Ultimo. Powerhouse Ultimo will remain open after government backflip

The NSW Government will keep the Powerhouse Museum at Ultimo open as well as build a new museum in Parramatta.

Preliminary concept render for the University of Melbourne's Fishermans Bend campus. University of Melbourne's $2b campus plan progresses

The University of Melbourne has progressed its plans for a $2 billion campus at Melbourne’s Fishermans Bend, after a stage one planning application was submitted …

Most read

Latest on site