Endorsed by

Australia’s best library designs revealed in 2019 Library Design Awards shortlist

The shortlist for the Australian Library and Information Association’s (ALIA) Library Design Awards have been released.

The awards, organized by the Australian Library and Information Association in partnership with the Australian Public Library Alliance and the Council of Australian University Librarians, were created in 2017 to showcase contemporary library buildings.

The awards are split into three categories – school library, public library and academic library. A fourth award, the ALIA Members’ Choice, went to the Geelong Library and Heritage Centre in 2017.

Caulfield Library Monash by John Wardle Architects and TCL Studio.

Caulfield Library Monash by John Wardle Architects and TCL Studio.

Image: courtesy Monash University

Entries were open to all libraries in Australia that have been built, renovated or refurbished between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2018.

The jury for the award comprises senior library leaders and design professionals including Philip Follent (life fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects) and Kylie Legge (director of Place Partners).

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held as part of the Asia Pacific Architecture Forum at the State Library of Queensland on 14 March, 2019. The forum is an initiative of Architecture Media and the State Library.

The awards will coincide with a one-day symposium on library design. Speakers include Libby Sander (assistant professor of organizational behaviour at Bond University and founder of Future of Work), Traci Engel Lesneski (principal of MSR), Gulcin Cribb (university librarian at Singapore Management University) and Robyn Frappell (head of learning centre at St. Joseph’s Nudgee College).

2019 ALIA Library Design Awards shortlist:

School Library

Centenary Library, Anglican Church Grammar School – Brand and Slater Architects (now BPSN Architects)

St Andrew’s Cathedral School Library, St Andrew’s Cathedral School – Allen Jack and Cottier Architects

Public Library

Bunjil Place Library – FJMT

Cobram Library and Learning Centre – Cohen Leigh Architects

Laidley Library – Fulton Trotter Architects

Shellharbour City Libraries – Designinc, Lacoste and Stevenson and Turf Design Studio

Academic Library

Caulfield Library Monash – John Wardle Architects and TCL Studio

Sir Louis Matheson Library – Cox Architecture with landscapes by TCL Studio and Peter Elliott Architecture

University of Queensland Library – DWP

The winners of the awards will be announced on March 2019.

More news

See all
The revitalization of Bendigo TAFE’s city campus, designed by Architectus and Six Degrees Architects. Victorian government unveils Bendigo TAFE designs

Architectus and Six Degrees Architects’ design celebrates the campus’s industrial heritage and champions its ongoing contribution to regional prosperity.

The proposed redevelopment of MLC Centre. Design led by Woods Bagot in collaboration with Harry Seidler and Associates. Seidler's MLC Centre begins $170m makeover

Construction has begun on a $170 million project to redevelop the Harry Seidler designed MLC Centre in central Sydney.

Proposed Coburg railway station by Wood Marsh. Wood Marsh to design new Coburg, Moreland stations in Melbourne’s north

Wood Marsh is working on the designs of two redeveloped train stations in Melbourne’s north, as part of the Victorian government’s level crossing removal project.

Stadiums featured on Australia Post's limited edition collection. L–R: AAMI Park by Cox Architecture, Optus Stadium by Hassell Cox HKS, Sydney Cricket Ground by J. Kirkpatrick, Melbourne Cricket Ground, including the Great Southern Stand Daryl Jackson in association with Tompkins Shaw and Evans. Four stadiums immortalized on stamps

Australia Post has released a stamp collection that features four iconic stadiums across Australia.

Most read

Latest on site