Bates Smart Award for Architecture in the Media

Bates Smart Award for Architecture in the Media is now open for entries.

The award is part of the Australian Institute of Architects annual awards program in Victoria since inception in 1986, and submissions are invited from electronic, print, specialist, popular and online media.

Open to journalists, editors, producers and others reporting on architecture and design, the annual award recognises the role and contribution of people who:

  • bring architecture to the attention of the general public
  • create awareness of architectural practice
  • generate quality public debate about architectural issues and
  • provide information for relevant professionals and specialists in the areas of architecture, interior design and environmental design.

Winners in 2012 were:

Forty Six Square Metres – Stuart Harrison (National)
Good, Bad or Ugly
– Stuart Harrison and Simon Knott (National)
magazine – editorial team (National)
Encyclopedia of Australian Architecture
– Philip Goad and Julie Willis (Special award)
Melbourne Open House
– Melbourne Open House Board (Special award)
Boyd’s Error: Planning’s Curse
– Ivan Rijavec (Commendation)
Falls the Shadow
– Andrew Mackenzie/URO (Commendation)

Submissions must have been broadcast, published or circulated in Victoria within the twelve months prior to the closing date of the Award.

Key dates

Entries open: Monday 18 February 2013
Entries close: Friday 29 March 2013
Winners announced: Friday 21 June 2013
Entry fee: $60 (including GST)

Download an entry form at the Vic Awards site.

Related topics

More news

See all
Preliminary concept render for the University of Melbourne's Fishermans Bend campus. University of Melbourne's $2b campus plan progresses

The University of Melbourne has progressed its plans for a $2 billion campus at Melbourne’s Fishermans Bend, after a stage one planning application was submitted …

Moreau Kusunoki and Genton's winning design for Powerhouse Parramatta. Green ban threatens new Powerhouse Parramatta

The construction union has placed a green ban on the demolition of two heritage buildings which could put the proposed Powerhouse Parramatta project in jeopardy.

Bondi memorial proposal by Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture and McGregor Westlake Architecture. Architects design memorial to victims of homophobic and transphobic hate crimes

Waverley Council in Sydney has released shortlisted designs for a memorial in Bondi.

Prince Alfred Park, Surry Hills. Draft NSW green space strategy released

Government Architect NSW’s draft design framework outlines ambitious targets for for access to public open space across the state.