Endorsed by

CAPITheticAL finalists announced

The finalists in the CAPITheticAL international design competition were announced at a cocktail reception at the Museum of Australian Democracy, Old Parliament House, in Canberra on 17 May.

Over 1200 registrations were received for the competition that asked students and professional designers to imagine how an Australian national capital might look if it was created today.

The list of finalists includes entrants from all over Australia and the world.


Australian Urban Design Research Centre (AUDRC) (Perth)
Brit Andresen and Mara Francis (Brisbane)
Dirk Bolt (Scotland)
Daniel Spence and Kristina Sahleström (Sydney and Sweden)
Douglas Muir (Canada)
DRAFT – Helen Norrie, Jenna Rowe and Elizabeth Walsh (Tasmania)
Ecoscape (Fremantle)
The Engagement Studio (Melbourne)
Dr Paola Favaro and Team (Sydney and International)
Gareth Cotter (UK)
Jones Sonter Architects (Sydney)
John Kurko (Gold Coast)
Kate Dickinson and Annabel Koeck (Sydney)
ParTri – Tony Lam, Vahid Tehrani and Liam Filson (Sydney)
MHBC – Armando Lopes, Eldon Theodore and Mackenzie Keast (Canada)
Manasi S. Satbhai (India)
MUDD (Sydney and international)
Philip Etchells (UK)
Sarah Herbert (Canberra)
Samson Tiew and Beatrice Toh (Melbourne via Malaysia)

The jury, consisting of Dr Catherin Bull, Councillor John McInerney, Callum Morton, Professor Barbara Norman and Professor Alastair Swayn, selected the finalists from forty-one student entries and seventy-three open category entries. The entries came from twenty-four different countries with seventy-four entries from Australian participants, seven of which were from Canberra.

The next stage of the competition asks the finalists to deliver final submissions in November, with winning entries to be announced in early 2013 and exhibited from February to April 2013 to coincide with Canberra’s one hundredth birthday.

Up to $100,000 worth of prizes will be shared among the final winners of the competition, with a first prize valued at up to $70,000 to be awarded.

CAPITheticAL is a Centenary of Canberra project, proudly supported by the ACT Government and the Australian Government and administered by the Australian Institute of Architects.

Related topics

More news

See all
Hotel Rottnest Resort by Christou Design Group. Rottnest Island resort expansion underway

The construction of a large-scale expansion of a hotel on Rottnest Island in Western Australia, designed by the Christou Design Group, has begun.

Proposed stage one airport layout at Badgerys Creek. Shortlisted teams announced in Western Sydney Airport terminal design competition

Western Sydney Airport has announced the five shortlisted teams competition to design a passenger terminal for Sydney’s proposed second airport.

Curtin Bike Hub (Perth, Australia) by Coniglio Ainsworth Architects. Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Bridge of Remembrance by Denton Corker Marshall. Denton Corker Marshall completes gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct

Denton Corker Marshall has completed a new gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct, the 200-metre-long Bridge of Remembrance.

Most read

Latest on site