Endorsed by

DIA 2015 VIC/TAS GOTYA winners announced

The winners of the 2015 Design Institute of Australia VIC/TAS Graduate of the Year Awards (GOTYA) have been announced at a ceremony at Brickworks Design Studio.

Now in its eighth year, the award categories include Graphic Design, Industrial Design, Furniture Design, Textile & Fashion Design, Interior Design and Interior Design and Decoration, which are assessed by a panel of judges from each discipline.

Each portfolio is judged on design solutions, transferrable workplace skills and the graduate’s predicted impact on the design industry.

Nominations were received from 10 tertiary institutes including Academy of Design Australia, Billy Blue College of Design, Box Hill Institute, CATC Design School, Holmesglen, Melbourne Polytechnic, Monash University, RMIT University, Swinburne University of Technology, and the University of Tasmania.

The overall winner for 2015 was Scott Van Tuil of the University of Tasmania for his furniture design. The judges were impressed by Van Tuil’s interpretation of sustainability, which focused on longevity rather than source of material or designing for minimal waste.

The theme Van Tuil incorporated in all his pieces was to make furniture that, through its design and material selection, would become an heirloom that would appeal to many generations of family members.

The 2015 VIC/TAS GOTYA category winners and runners-up are:

Interior Design winner - Gabrielle Livermore, University of Tasmania

Interior Design, runner-up - Janelle Van Der Velde, University of Tasmania

Interior Design and Decorationwinner -Manuela Mojica Milan, RMIT University

Interior Design and Decoration, runner-up - Samantha Verkuylen, CATC Design School

Industrial Design winner - Rowan Turnham, Monash University

Industrial Design, runner-up |Ryan Pennings, RMIT University

Furniture Design winner - Scott Van Tuil, University of Tasmania

Furniture Design, runner-up - Harry Zanios, RMIT University

Graphic Design winner - Hayden Doward, Monash University

Graphic Design, runner-up - Michael Semeniuk, Swinburne University of Technology

Fashion and Textile Design winner - Michelle DeCastro, RMIT University

Fashion and Textile Design, runner-up - Callan Davies, RMIT University

Related topics

More award

See all
Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes Winners announced: 2019 National Prizes

The Australian Institute of Architects announced the 2019 National Prizes at the National Architecture Conference in Melbourne.

Gen–Y House, part of White Gum Valley in Perth. The project, designed by David Barr Architects, is one of the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living’s sixteen Living Labs. 2019 National Prizes: Leadership in Sustainability Prize

The 2019 Leadership in Sustainability Prize is awarded to the Cooperative Research Centre for Low Carbon Living.

Professor Helen Lochhead. 2019 National Prizes: Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize

The 2019 Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize is awarded to Helen Lochhead.

Sobi Slingsby. 2019 National Prizes: BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize

Sobi Slingsby is awarded the BlueScope Glenn Murcutt Student Prize.

Most read

Latest on site