Endorsed by

Daylight Design Awards

Entries are now open for the Dr Albert Dressler Daylight Design Awards. Now in its second year, the awards from the IES lighting society Victoria / Tasmania Chapter, celebrate the use of daylight in architecture, and the fascinating research being done in this area internationally.

The 2012 Dr Albert Dressler Daylight Excellence Award Winner was the National Centre for Synchrotron Science by Bates Smart. The 2013 Awards convenor, Melbourne architect Antony Di Mase, recently published Making more of our relationship to light, on ArchitectureAU.

The awards are open to projects completed in the past two years, from small renovations to the large infrastructure projects; membership of the IES is not a requirement of entry. Judging the award are: John Ford (Relume), Phoebe Whitman (interior design lecturer, RMIT), Rosanna Saleme (lighting designer, Electrolight), and Dr Phillip Greenup (lighting designer / sustainability consultant, Arup), with Phoebe Whitman and architect / award convenor Antony Di Mase as co-chairs. They will assess entries on the following criteria:

  • Research and analysis of daylight in the design process,
  • Environmental performance of the daylight design strategy,
  • Human comfort, and
  • Experiential outcome

Entries close 31 July 2013. Entry forms and the conditions of entry can be downloaded here. Email general enquiries to the awards convenor.

Related topics

More news

See all
The Association of Consulting Architects’ 2016 National Salary Survey found that the gender pay gap persists and 13 percent of firms surveyed are underpaying staff. Architects glum about 2019 salary prospects

Architects are concerned about obtaining a pay rise this year, according to the results of a survey conducted by recruitment agency Hays.

The Ian Potter Centre for Performing Arts, designed by Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design. Revitalized Alexander Theatre opens at Monash University as part of new performing arts centre

Monash University has opened a $54.3 million performing arts centre at its Clayton Campus which includes an upgraded modernist theatre and two new concert halls.

A concept image for a pedestrianized Elizabeth Street. Melbourne council continues pedestrianization push with Elizabeth Street plan

City of Melbourne councillors have voted to endorse a plan that will see Melbourne’s Elizabeth Street closed to cars over a number of years.

The tower at 62-68 Currie Street designed by Hames Sharley. Expressed concrete tower set for approval in Adelaide

A Hames Sharley-designed 25-storey office and hotel tower proposed for Adelaide’s Currie Street is expected to be approved by the State Commission Assessment panel on …

Most read

Latest on site