Endorsed by

Entries open: 2017 NGV Architecture Commission competition

The National Gallery of Victoria will open registrations for its 2017 Architecture Commission Design Competition on 25 January 2017.

The competition calls for innovative proposals for the activation of its Grollo Equiset Garden, at the rear of the NGV International, through a temporary, site-specific work of architecture that is participatory, evocative and thought provoking.

This year, entrants are encouraged to explore materials and systems, manufacturing and fabrication, technology, sustainability and cultural resonance, as well as progressive thinking and approaches to activation and audience engagement.

The competition follows on from the inaugural Architecture Commission Design Competition won by M@ Studio Architects, which in turn followed the inaugural commission by John Wardle Architects.

Teams entering the competition must be led by an architect registered in Australia but are encouraged to collaborate with other cultural, creative and industry professionals locally and internationally.

The competition will be held in two stages. Stage One calls for high-level design proposals and will be judged anonymously. Up to five proposals will be chosen to proceed to a paid Stage Two. These submissions will then undergo further development and refinement for presentation to a jury. The jury will select the overall winner, which will be commissioned by the NGV.

The competition jury comprises Jill Garner (Victorian government architect, chair), Corbett Lyon (Lyons Architecture and National Gallery of Victoria Trustee), Ewan McEoin (senior curator of contemporary design and architecture, NGV), Amy Muir (Victorian chapter councillor, Australian Institute of Architects), Naomi Stead (academic, scholar and critic) and SueAnne Ware (educator, academic and critic).

Registrations will open from 25 January until 6 March. Stage one entries close on 13 March. The shortlist will be announced in March during Melbourne Design Week (16–26 March).

The NGV Architecture Commission is led by the Department of Contemporary Design and Architecture and the competition process is developed and delivered by City Lab. To register for the competition, click here.

Related topics

More news

See all
The Neo200 building in Melbourne. Governments agree on national building standards, but ‘huge amount of work’ ahead

State and federal governments have agreed to a national approach to building reform at an intergovernmental forum in Sydney.

HY William Chan. Australian designer makes Forbes ‘30 under 30’ list

Australian designer HY William Chan has been named on the “30 Under 30 – Asia” list published annually by international business magazine Forbes.

Proposed Port Arthur Hotel by Cumulus Studio. Developers rethink Cumulus Studio’s Port Arthur hotel

Casino operator Federal Group is rethinking its proposal for a luxury hotel designed by Cumulus Studio in Port Arthur.

Hashim Sarkis (left) and Paolo Baratta (right). Venice Biennale 2020 to explore ‘How will we live together?’

Hashim Sarkis, the curator of the 2020 Venice Architecture Biennale, has announced the theme exhibition will be “How will we live together?”

Most read

Latest on site