Finalists revealed: 2015 Dulux Colour Awards

Finalists in the 2015 Dulux Colour Awards were announced on 24 February. From a record 249 entries, seventy-eight were shortlisted in nine categories. In 2015, two new categories were created – International and Installation & Events – generating entries from across the Tasman and the Pacific region.

The finalists selected by the just are characterized by daring use of colour and graphic patterns. “The theme of ‘revealing the artist’ was embraced,” said Andrea Lucena-Orr, Dulux Colour Planning and Communication Manager, referring to the many instances where designers collaborated with graffiti artists to create bold experimental office interiors.

In the Residential exteriors category, grey tones dominated, acting as a neutral backdrop to natural finishes such as stone, timber and brick, with pops of reds and greens used to highlight key architectural features.

Winners of the 2015 Dulux Colour Awards will be announced on 25 March 2015.

On the jury are: Andrea Wilson (senior associate at ARM Architecture), Hannah Tribe (founding director of Tribe Studio Architects), David Bromley (contemporary artist), Sian MacPherson, (editor of EST magazine) and Simon James (contemporary furniture designer from New Zealand).

The finalists are:

Matisse Beach Club (WA) by Oldfield Knott Architecture.

Matisse Beach Club (WA) by Oldfield Knott Architecture.

Commercial Exterior

Brompton Pavilion (Vic) – Craig Tan Architects

Clyde Quay Wharf (NZ) – Athfield Architects

Matisse Beach Club (WA) – Oldfield Knott Architecture

Mid North Coast Correctional Learning Centre (NSW) – Bradley Architecture

Monash Medical Centre Northern Carpark (Vic) – Silver Thomas Hanley & Des Holmes Architects

South Morang Zone Substation (Vic) – Georgina Hoad

St Justin’s Catholic Primary School (NSW) – Thomson Adsett

Stanmore Library (NSW) – MAKE Creative

Toowoomba Base Hospital (Qld) – Aspect Architects

Warringah Creative Space (NSW) – Michael England

Commercial Interior (Office Fitout and Retail)

East Ivanhoe Travel & Cruise (Vic) – Flack Studio

Flinders Lane Office (Vic) – MRTN Architects

Harris Blake & Parsons (Vic) – Two Design

Kaleidoscope Community Health Services (NSW) – EJE Architecture

Koko Black Indooroopilly (Qld) – Russell & George

Mi9 (NSW) – The Bold Collective

Mil Constructions (Vic) – Doherty Design Studio

National Australia Bank, Docklands (Vic) – Woods Bagot

REA Group (Vic) – Futurespace

Riot Games (NSW) – Futurespace

Wotif Group (NSW) – Futurespace

Wunderman/Bienalto (NSW) – The Bold Collective

Mandoon Estate (WA) by Bremick Group.

Mandoon Estate (WA) by Bremick Group.

Commercial Interior (Public Space and Hospitality)

ACU Library Refurbishment (NSW) – Big City Design

Catfish (Vic) – Russell & George

CT Building Refurbishment (NSW) – CKDS Architecture

Din Tai Fung Miranda (NSW) – Design Clarity

Entrecotè (Vic) – Flack Studio

Epping Road Childcare Centre (NSW) – Futurespace

Fonda Hawthorn (Vic) – Technē Architecture + Interior Design

Grand Papua Hotel (PNG) – Space Studio

Huxtaburger Prahan (Vic) – Russell & George

Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital (Qld) – Conrad Gargett

Mandoon Estate (WA) – Bremick Group

Phamily Kitchen (Vic) – Mathew van Kooy

Rockpool est.1989 (NSW) – Grant Cheyne Design

St Augustine’s Kindergarten (NSW) – Wilson Architects

Waiheke Island Artworks and Library (NZ) – Pacific Environments NZ

Installation and Events

Here Now mural, Art & About (NSW) – Numskull

Lexus Design Pavilion (Vic) – Mim Design

The Emperor’s Quest, Interpretive Children’s Trail, Chinese Gardens of Friendship, Darling Harbour (NSW) – MAKE Creative

Whiti te Ra! The Story of Ngati Toa (NZ) – Craig Turvey

Multi Residential Exterior

Linear Apartments (Vic) – Ascui & Co Architects

Polychrome (NSW) – David Boyle Architect

Viking (NSW) – MHNDU

Single Residential Exterior

Anglesea House 4 (Vic) – Emma Mitchell

Carmel (NSW) – Sharon Gage

Curtain Street (Vic) – Workshop Architecture

Gerringong Lookout (NSW) – Ivy Interior Design

Kingsmill Residence (NSW) – Katrina Hill Design Group

Robb Street House (Vic) – Renae Barrass Interior Design

The Oasis (NSW) – Katrina Hill Design Group

East Melbourne Residence (Vic) by Flack Studio.

East Melbourne Residence (Vic) by Flack Studio.

Single Residential Interior

A boy and his dog (Vic) – And Architecture

Anglesea House 4 (Vic) – Emma Mitchell

Beaumaris 60’s House (Vic) – Austin Design Associates

Bronte Terrace (NSW) – Arent & Pyke

Courtyard House (NSW) – Aileen Sage Architects

Curraweena House, Clifton Gardens (NSW) – Hare + Klein

Domain Residence (Vic) – Travis Walton

East Melbourne Residence (Vic) – Flack Studio

Lennox Street (NSW) – Alexandra Kidd Design

Local House (Vic) – MAKE Architecture

Manly Beach Pad (NSW) – Brett Mickan Interior Design

McGill House (NSW) – Jacinta Preston

Otaparae (NZ) – SPACE Architecture

The Avenue (NSW) – Arent & Pyke


Clyde Quay Wharf (NZ) – Athfield Architects

Isaac Theatre Royal (NZ) – Warren and Mahoney

Koko Black Queenstown (NZ) – Russell & George

Otoparae (NZ) – SPACE Architecture

The Fifth Ship (NZ) – Trent Hiles

Whiti te Ra! The Story of Ngati Toa (NZ) – 3D Creative


Black Box White Cube – Kathleen Duffy (RMIT)

Concealing the Crisis – Amelyn Ng (Melbourne University)

In Search of a Suburban Domain – Nicholas Stathopoulos (RMIT)

Minimal Space, Maximum Living – Elise Convery (Whitehorse)

Out of the East – Tomoki Takei

Victorian Leadership Academy – William Brouwers (RMIT)

Water Based Office Space – Matt South (WINTEC)

More award

See all
Bendigo Hospital Project by Oculus with Paul Thompson 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards announced

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 National Landscape Architecture Awards.

Cloud Cottage by Takt Studio. 2019 NSW Country Division Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has revealed the winners of the 2019 edition of the NSW Country Division Awards.

Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. Shortlist revealed: 2019 National Architecture Awards

Buildings that demonstrate the value of architecture through public benefit and commitments to social and environmental sustainability make up the shortlist of the 2019 National …

Manly Greenhouse by Luchetti Krelle. Shortlist revealed: 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards

Ninety-four entries have been shortlisted in the 2019 Eat Drink Design Awards.

Most read

Latest on site