Endorsed by

Gold Coast Urban Design Awards 2011

Coinciding with the 2011 International Urban Design Conference, the Gold Coast Urban Design Awards were announced on 23 September 2011.

The Sue Robbins Award for Excellence in Urban Design

Broadwater Parklands submitted by Gold Coast City Council

The Helen Josephson Award for Innovation in Urban Design

Metricon Stadium submitted by Populous

The People’s Choice Award

Broadwater Parklands


One Short Street submitted by Inarc Design Queensland
The Oracle submitted by DBI

Special Mention for Space and Space Making

Surfers Paradise Foreshore submitted by Place Design Group

Special Mention for Community Enhancement

Australian Industry Trade College submitted by Degenhartshedd
Pizzey Park Community Skate Park submitted by Complete Urban

Special Mention for Environmental Sensitivity

Burleigh Heads Mowbray Park Surf Life Saving Club submitted by Arkitektika

Design Education Award (Masters)

Platform C Project submitted by Lara Noble, University of Queensland

Design Education Commendation (Masters)

Ocean & Surf Precinct and Transit Integration Project submitted by David Churcher, University of Queensland

Design Education Award (Undergraduate)

Vital Connections Project submitted by John Kurko, Griffith University

Design Education Commendation (Undergraduate)

Southport and Main Beach Pedestrian Bridge and Square Project submitted by Chris Byron, Griffith University



Published online: 1 Feb 2012
Images: Alexandra Somlai, Richard Pearse, Roam Photography, Scott Burrows


Landscape Architecture Australia, February 2012

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.