Architects sidelined in major shake-up of NSW Independent Planning Commission

The NSW Independent Planning Commission will undergo major reforms, the state’s planning minister has announced.

The proposed reforms follow the NSW Productivity Commission’s review of the IPC at the request of the minister in October 2019.

The Productivity Commission made 12 recommendations, including that “the minister formally [issue] directions on an agreed set of outcome-focused objectives and performance measures (incorporating quality and timeliness targets);” and that the commission “transition to a smaller pool of Commissioners, with a stronger focus on decision-making skills rather than technical expertise (expert advice can be commissioned separately).”

The IPC currently has 28 members including four highly experienced and distinguished architects: Soo-Tee Cheong, Wendy Lewin, Adrian Pilton, and national president of the Australian Institute of Architects Helen Lochhead.

The Productivity Commission also recommended that the threshold for referrals to the IPC should be lifted from 25 community objections to 50, as well as imposing requirements that objections be “unique” and objectors reside within a 100 kilometre radius of the development.

The government accepted all of the review’s recommendations. Planning minister Rob Stokes said the independent body will have “new performance benchmarks, streamlined processes, greater accountability and new commissioners, to ensure the system works better for everyone.”

The review followed a number of highly controversial developments referred to IPC in 2019, including the Star Casino tower proposal, which the IPC eventually rejected in November, as well as a coal mine project in the Bylong Valley, which the IPC rejected in September.

The decision prompted the NSW Minerals Council to launch an extensive advertising campaign calling for “urgent” changes to the planning system.

Related topics

More news

See all
Should construction sites be shut down in a pandemic? Should construction sites be shut down in a pandemic?

In Australia construction is deemed an essential activity and work is continuing. But a group of young architects in the UK are calling for construction …

Pyrmont peninsula. Pyrmont planning strategy released

The NSW government has released a 10-point strategy for the planning of Pyrmont peninsula following a controversial review of the planning framework for the area.

Second survey of COVID-19 effects on architecture practices launched Second survey of COVID-19 effects on architecture practices launched

The Association of Consulting Architects has launched a second survey of architecture practices as the economic bite of the COVID-19 pandemic continues to deepen.

Michael Sorkin Michael Sorkin, ‘supremely gifted’ theorist and architect, dies from COVID-19

American architect, theorist and urbanist Michael Sorkin has died in New York after contracting COVID-19.

Most read

Latest on site