Individual contributions to NSW architecture recognized

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Prizes, as well as new fellows and life fellows.

Rather than specific projects, the prizes recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to architecture in the state.

In 2019, the NSW chapter added three additional prizes to the program, including the Best in Practice Prize for supportive and inclusive workplaces, the Christopher Proctor Prize for an emerging architect with a passion for urban design and the reintroduction of the Adrian Ashton Prize for architectural reporting and criticism.

BVN received the Best in Practice prize for its approach workplace culture, including equity, diversity, engagement and empowerment.

The Christopher Procter Prize and the David Lindner prize were both awarded to Hannah Slater for her research proposals “Altogether now: seeking an integrated approach for urban renewal” and “Alone together: addressing urban isolation in Australian cities” respectively.

Journalist and filmmaker Catherine Hunter won the Adrian Ashton Prize for her documentary Glenn Murcutt: Spirit of Place, which depicted the making of Murcutt’s mosque in Melbourne. Hunter previous received the prize in 2006 and was commended in 2008.

Newly appointed NSW government architect Abbie Galvin (formerly principal of BVN) received the Marion Mahony Prize, which recognizes the body of work of a female architect.

The University of Sydney’s Wingara Mura-Bunga Barrabugu Strategy received the reconciliation prize in recognition of benchmark it sets for the design of space and place that celebrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures.

Caroline Pidcock was awarded the President’s Prize for her contribution to the profession. Pidcock spearheaded the creation of the Architects Declare movement in Australia earlier this year.

The Institute also named 15 fellows and three new life fellows: Angelo Candalepas (Angelo Candalepas Associates), Helen Lochhead (national president Australian Institute of Architects) and Philip Thalis (Hill Thalis Architecture and Urban Projects).

NSW Architecture Prizes

Adrian Ashton Prize

Catherine Hunter – Glenn Murcutt: Spirit of Place

Best in Practice Prize






Christopher Procter Prize

Hannah Slater – “Altogether now: seeking an integrated approach for urban renewal”

David Lindner Prize

Hannah Slater – “Alone together: addressing urban isolation in Australian cities”

Marion Mahony Griffin Prize

Abbie Galvin

Reconciliation Prize


University of Sydney – Wingara Mura-Bunga Barrabugu: a thinking path to make tomorrow’s strategy


Kaunitz Yeung Architecture

Neeson Murcutt and Neille with Sue Barnsley Design and Freeman Ryan Design – Kamay Botany Bay National Park Masterplan

NSW President’s Prize

Caroline Pidcock

More news

See all
The proposed expansion of the Australian War Memorial will be most significant investment since its establishment after World War One. 'Wasteful and unnecessary' war memorial project should be ditched, Institute tells inquiry

The Institute said the the Australian War Memorial project has had “clear and numerous failures of due process.”

The Victoria Cross integrated station development. North Sydney's tallest tower approved

The NSW government has approved the proposed Victoria Cross integrated station development, paving the way for North Sydney’s tallest tower.

The Old Burleigh Theatre Arcade development at 64 Goodwin Terrace by Conrad Gargett. Historic Gold Coast theatre saved from demolition

The historic facade of the Old Burleigh Theatre Arcade on the Gold Coast will be preserved under a plan to construct a 14-storey tower on …

Proposed North Sydney tower designed by Bates Smart. Mid-century North Sydney MLC building to be replaced

North Sydney’s first high-rise office building is set to be demolished and replaced by the first net zero carbon ready building in the area.

Most read

Latest on site