Jury’s decided, AGNSW’s expansion now awaits government approval

The jury for the Art Gallery of New South Wales design competition has unanimously chosen the architecture firm that will design the $450 million expansion of the gallery.

The project, dubbed Sydney Modern, now awaits the chosen practice to sign the contract and approval from the NSW government.

The competition’s seven-member jury received the stage two shortlisted submissions on 6 April 2015. After reviewing the designs against the brief, interviewing the competing architects and examining scale models of the designs slotted into a model of the existing gallery, the jury made its final selection on Thursday. The winning proposal will be revealed in late May, which could belong to one of the following practices:

  • Sean Godsell Architects (Melbourne)
  • Kerry Hill Architects (Perth/Singapore)
  • Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa (SANAA) (Tokyo)
  • Kengo Kuma & Associates (Tokyo/Paris)
  • RMA Architects (Rahul Mehrotra Architects) (Mumbai/Boston)

The Sydney Modern project will double the size of the current gallery by extending to the site immediately to its north. The proposed site is currently parkland, which forms a land bridge over the 10-lane Cahill Expressway, east of Mrs Macquarie Drive. The new building will include exhibition spaces, a multi-purpose theatre, learning and interactive spaces, expanded restaurant, cafe and event spaces, with both indoor and outdoor art experiences. The project is set to create a new cultural precinct connecting the Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain. The project is expected to be complete in 2021 in time for the gallery’s 150th anniversary.

Thirty local and international practices were invited to participate in stage one of the competition. Twelve were selected to proceed to stage two, announced in October 2014, from which the final five were shortlisted in January 2015.

On the jury were: Dr Michael Brand (Chair, director of Art Gallery of New South Wales), Kathryn Gustafson (Gustafson Guthrie Nichol and Gustafson Porter), Michael Lynch CBE AM (CEO of West Kowloon Cultural District Authority), Toshiko Mori (professor, Harvard University Graduate School of Design), Glenn Murcutt (Pritzker Architecture Prize winner 2002), Juhani Pallasmaa (professor emeritus, architect and widely published writer), and Hetti Perkins (member of the Eastern Arrernte and Kalkadoon Aboriginal communities and curator, filmmaker and author).

More news

See all
251 Wickham Street by Bureau Proberts. ‘A new type of office building’ for Brisbane's Fortitude Valley

Bureau Proberts’s design for a 28-storey Brisbane tower is intended to provide a “striking alternative” to the surrounding commercial buildings of the CBD and the …

Perth Concert Hall by Howlett and Bailey Architects. ‘Beautifully poured’ brutalist Perth concert hall to be redeveloped

The Western Australian government has pledged $30 million to redevelop the brutalist Perth Concert Hall.

South West TAFE Warrnambool learning and library hub, designed by Kosloff Architecture. ‘An iconic building’ proposed for regional Victorian town

Kosloff Architecture has designed multi-storey, highly transparent learning facility for the south-west Victorian town of Warrnambool.

A grand stair inside 5 Parramatta Square by Manuelle Gautrand Architecture with  Designinc and Lacoste and Stevenson. New vision of Parramatta Square civic hub

5 Parramatta is designed by French practice Manuelle Gautrand Architecture with Designinc and Lacoste and Stevenson

Most read

Latest on site