Jury in clash with public over Perth’s Indiana Tea House redevelopment

Following a design competition, a jury has chosen Durbach Block Jaggers (DBJ), Ohlo Studio and Aspect Studios’ proposal for the redevelopment of Perth’s Indiana Tea House at Cottesloe Beach.

However, the jury’s preferred design is different to a proposal that was chosen in a vote open to the public, and as such, the owner of the site will not proceed with the jury’s choice.

Minderoo Group, backed by Perth mining magnate Andrew Forrest, invited 11 Australian architecture practices to participate in the design competition. Four finalist designs were revealed in July 2019, which was later narrowed down to two proposals.

The proposal by the DBJ team, titled “Two Islands,” comprised two distinct pavilions with landscaped terraces and a pool located at the end of the groyne.

While Kerry Hill Architects proposed curved structure, “a form shaped by ocean forces,” which will hover over series of publicly accessible landscape terraces and a beach promenade with a lap pool.

The jury deemed Durbach Block Jaggers, Ohlo Studio and Aspect Studios’ proposal “the most memorable reimagining on the site” and that it best met the design brief.

Feedback from the public has revealed that 53 percent of respondents preferred Kerry Hill Architects’ design, while only 10 percent chose the proposal by the DBJ team. The remaining 37 percent would prefer to retain and refurbish the existing building.

Minderoo Group said on its website, “Given that the views of the jury and the community differed so significantly, Minderoo Group has made the decision not to proceed with the jury’s decision at this time.

“Instead, Minderoo Group will consider further design options, and continue its commitment to consult with the community and Town of Cottesloe on the selected option.”

The group congratulated the winning team on its “creative interpretation of the brief and reimagining of the site. “However, at this stage, the group is considering other redevelopment options,” it said.

Related topics

More news

See all
Nightingale 1 by Breathe Architecture. New precinct category added to Good Design Awards

A new category for precinct design joins 10 existing architecture categories in the 2020 Good Design Awards.

32 Howitt Road by Ernest Fooks. Heritage review identifies mid-century ‘hidden gems’ in south-east Melbourne

A council in south-east Melbourne has commissioned a heritage review of post-war buildings identifying a number of “hidden gems.”

Preliminary design of the Coomera Civic Hub. Civic hub proposed for northern Gold Coast town

The City of Gold Coast has revealed preliminary designs for an “all-in-one” town centre in Coomera.

HOTA Green Bridge by ARM Architecture. ARM Architecture’s HOTA Green Bridge opens

A sculptural bridge designed by ARM Architecture is the newest addition to the Gold Coast’s arts and cultural precinct.

Most read

Latest on site