Jury revealed: 2020 Australian Interior Design Awards

Now celebrating its 17th year, the jury for the Australian Interior Design Awards has been announced for the 2020 program.

Considered Australia’s leading industry-based awards program, the Australian Interior Design Awards is delivered by the Design Institute of Australia and Architecture Media’s Artichoke magazine and celebrates excellence in interior design across the residential, commercial and public sectors.

The awards are Australia’s only 100 percent peer-judged program for interior design and is underpinned by a confidential judging process.

This year’s jury comprises some of Australia’s most esteemed interior design practitioners, and is convened by Geraldine Maher, principal of Geraldine Maher Design.

The other jury members are:

  • Angela Biddle, director, Scott Carver (NSW)
  • Ljiljana Gazevic, director, SJB (Vic)
  • Kelvin Ho, founding director, Akin Atelier (NSW)
  • Patrick Kennedy, co-founder, Kennedy Nolan (Vic)
  • Rachael McCarthy, studio director, Bates Smart (Vic)
  • Sarah-Jane Pyke, principal, Arent and Pyke (NSW)
  • Eva Sue, principal, Woods Bagot (WA)
  • Stuart Vokes, co-founder, Vokes and Peters (Qld)

The awards encompass projects across retail, hospitality, workplace, public, installation, residential design and residential decoration categoreis, as well as emerging interior design practice.

Entries will also be considered for the Best of State commercial or residential awards, Best International Design award, and the Sustainability Advancement award. Category winners will be considered for the Premier Award for Australian Interior Design.

<!— /5912001/AAU_AU_MR_side_300x250 —> <div id=’div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’> <script> googletag.cmd.push(function() { // googletag.pubads().refresh([gptRespAdSlots[0]]); googletag.display(‘div-gpt-ad-1490926265173-2-mob’); }); </script> </div>

In addition, the invitation-only category, the Award for Interior Design Impact, acknowledges the significant influence of interior design on the business, social, human resource, environmental and/or cultural outcomes of a project.

With entries officially open for the 2020 program, Australian-based designers from both established and emerging firms are encouraged to enter. For more information, go here.

The Australian Interior Design Awards is a partnership event of the Design Institute of Australia and Artichoke magazine and is supported by Dulux, Elton Group, Signorino, Space Furniture, Sub-Zero and Wolf, Laminex, Novas, Oblica, and jury host Denfair.

Related topics

More news

See all
Melbourne CBD street to be pedestrianized Melbourne CBD street to be pedestrianized

The City of Melbourne has released designs for the beginnings of its plan to pedestrianize much of Elizabeth Street.

McEvoy Street apartments by Andrew Burns Architecture and PBD Architects. Former Alexandria industrial site’s new lease of life

A proposal by Andrew Burns Architecture and PBD Architects will renew an existing site that was once home to a roofing and flooring manufacturer.

Enrico Taglietti. Canberra visionary Enrico Taglietti posthumously recognized in Australia Day Honours

Enrico Taglietti has been posthumously appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the 2020 Australia Day Honours

Fishermans Bend Secondary School by Billard Leece Partnership. Works begin on Fishermans Bend vertical high school

Conceived by Billard Leece Partnership, the architectural design of the school is inspired by the area’s maritime and industrial history.

Most read

Latest on site