Endorsed by

Lyons, EJE appointed to design ‘gateway’ building for Newcastle uni

The University of Newcastle has appointed Lyons Architecture and EJE Architects to design a “flagship” building for the university’s science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM) precinct at its Callaghan campus.

In an email to university staff, deputy vice chancellor (academic) professor Darrell Evans said the practices were appointed following a competitive procurement process. “Lyons and EJE also partnered with us to deliver the iconic, award-winning NeW Space building, and we are excited by their potential to revitalise our Callaghan campus with another emblematic building.”

Lyons and EJE’s city campus building for the University of Newcastle, NeW Space, was awarded the Newcastle Jury Prize at the 2018 Newcastle Architecture Awards.

The proposed building will be located on the site of the existing McMullin building, near the university’s western entrance. The building will be “designed to enable interdisciplinary collaboration, innovation and industry engagement,” Evans said. “It will be a true gateway to the University, providing the space and environment to increase engagement with students, staff, industry and the community.”

A number of other buildings in the vicinity will also be refurbished to create the STEMM precinct.

Concept design for the building has commenced with the detailed design to be finalized by the first quarter of 2020. The building is expected to be completed by 2023.

More news

See all
The revitalization of Bendigo TAFE’s city campus, designed by Architectus and Six Degrees Architects. Victorian government unveils Bendigo TAFE designs

Architectus and Six Degrees Architects’ design celebrates the campus’s industrial heritage and champions its ongoing contribution to regional prosperity.

The proposed redevelopment of MLC Centre. Design led by Woods Bagot in collaboration with Harry Seidler and Associates. Seidler's MLC Centre begins $170m makeover

Construction has begun on a $170 million project to redevelop the Harry Seidler designed MLC Centre in central Sydney.

Proposed Coburg railway station by Wood Marsh. Wood Marsh to design new Coburg, Moreland stations in Melbourne’s north

Wood Marsh is working on the designs of two redeveloped train stations in Melbourne’s north, as part of the Victorian government’s level crossing removal project.

Stadiums featured on Australia Post's limited edition collection. L–R: AAMI Park by Cox Architecture, Optus Stadium by Hassell Cox HKS, Sydney Cricket Ground by J. Kirkpatrick, Melbourne Cricket Ground, including the Great Southern Stand Daryl Jackson in association with Tompkins Shaw and Evans. Four stadiums immortalized on stamps

Australia Post has released a stamp collection that features four iconic stadiums across Australia.

Most read

Latest on site