Endorsed by

2010 AAA Awards: Architectural Education Prize

Neville Quarry Architectural Education Prize: Professor Gordon Holden 2010 Australian Achievement in Architecture Awards Australian Institute of Architects

Winner: Professor Gordon Holden, Griffith University (formerly of the Victoria University of Wellington)

Jury citation

This prize is awarded to Professor Gordon Holden in recognition of his outstanding leadership in architectural education in Australasia. Of particular note are Professor Holden’s role in establishing one of the first Australian urban design degrees at the Queensland University of Technology in 1987, his leadership of architecture schools in three Australasian universities, his advancement of architectural education internationally through the development of the Commonwealth Association of Architects education policy and procedures for accreditation, and his contribution to the development of the Canberra Accord for mutual recognition of architecture qualifications across the signatories. Professor Holden has worked tirelessly to bring together the interests of the profession, of the discipline and of the academy in ways that have won him the support and respect of his practitioner, academic and student colleagues.

Professor Gordon Holden, Griffith University

Professor Gordon Holden, Griffith University

Commendation: Associate Professor Samer Akkach, University of Adelaide

Jury citation

Associate Professor Samer Akkach’s teaching and scholarship have been unwavering in their focus on the articulation and sustained development of cross-cultural approaches to teaching architectural design, history and theory. His leadership of the Centre for Asian and Middle Eastern Architecture (CAMEA), established at the University of Adelaide in 1997, has fostered the exploration of diverse cultural relations within the history of architecture. He has also brought to the attention of students involved in the centre’s programs an awareness of the importance of understanding the environmental consequences of ongoing industrialization and urbanization. His students and colleagues testify to his ability to stimulate critical thinking, to the fruitful outcomes of his promotion of international design studios, and to his contribution to the teaching of architectural history.

Associate Professor Samer Akkach, University of Adelaide

Associate Professor Samer Akkach, University of Adelaide

Jury: Howard Tanner (chair), Prof. Richard Blythe, Prof. Stephen Frith, Philip Thalis, Vikram Grewal, Alysia Bennett



Published online: 1 Mar 2010


Architecture Australia, March 2010

Related topics

More award

See all
Devonport Living City Stage 1 by Lyons with Maddison Architects and Birrelli. 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 Tasmanian Architecture Awards.

Maitland Riverlink by Chrofi with McGregor Coxall. 2019 NSW Architecture Awards

The Australian Institute of Architects has announced the winners of the 2019 NSW Architecture Awards.

Place de la Brèche, Niort (France) by Studio Milou. 2019 International Chapter Architecture Awards

The work of Australian architects around the world has been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2019 International Chapter Awards.

University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute by Swanbury Penglase with BVN. 2019 SA Architecture Awards

The 2019 South Australian Architecture Awards were announced in Adelaide on 29 June.

Most read

Latest on site