Endorsed by

2011 NSW Architecture Awards announced

The New South Wales Architecture Awards were announced at the Sydney Hilton Hotel earlier this month.

BVN’s Brain and Mind Research Institute – Youth Mental Health Building in Camperdown added to its impressive list of awards winning the Sulman Award for Public Architecture. The building unites patients, carers, clinicians and scientists working in neuroscience and mental health, in a refreshingly engaging off-campus facility. BVN Architecture also won the John Verge Award for interior design for the BVN Sydney Studio.

Bates Smart’s 420 George Street development won the Sir Arthur G. Stephenson Award for commmercial architecture for its intelligent and well executed response to a complex site and program. Bates Smart also won an interior architecture award for the Conneq building.

Tonkin Zulaikha Greer’s National Centre of Indigenous Excellence won the Lloyd Rees Award for urban design and was commended in the public architecture category. The project conserves three heritage-listed buildings of the former Redfern Public School dating from the 1870s and adds a new sporting facility, swimming pool and football training field to form the NCIE campus.

The playful and energetic DPR House by mck architects won the Wilkinson Award for residential architecture and the Waterloo Street project by Candalepas Associates won the Aaron Bolot Award for mulitple housing. Candalepas Associates’s Francis Street also won a residential architecture award.

St. James Church in King St, designed by convict architect Francis Greenway with recent work by Design 5 - Architects Pty Ltd, won the Greenway Award for heritage; and Elamang Avenue, by Luigi Rosselli Architects, won the Milo Dunphy Award for sustainable architecture.

Glenn Murcutt’s Magney House won the Enduring Architecture Award for projects twenty-five years old or more while New South Wales Government Architecture Peter Mould won the President’s Prize and Caroline Pidcock won the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize.

An extended discussion and a full list of winners and commended projects will appear in the September issue of Architecture Australia.

Related topics

More news

See all
Hotel Rottnest Resort by Christou Design Group. Rottnest Island resort expansion underway

The construction of a large-scale expansion of a hotel on Rottnest Island in Western Australia, designed by the Christou Design Group, has begun.

Proposed stage one airport layout at Badgerys Creek. Shortlisted teams announced in Western Sydney Airport terminal design competition

Western Sydney Airport has announced the five shortlisted teams competition to design a passenger terminal for Sydney’s proposed second airport.

Curtin Bike Hub (Perth, Australia) by Coniglio Ainsworth Architects. Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Coniglio Ainsworth Architects’ Curtin Uni bike hub selected for international Bicycle Architecture Biennale

Bridge of Remembrance by Denton Corker Marshall. Denton Corker Marshall completes gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct

Denton Corker Marshall has completed a new gateway to Hobart’s war memorial precinct, the 200-metre-long Bridge of Remembrance.

Most read

Latest on site