NSW government architect names members of pilot state-wide design review panel

Click to enlarge
NSW State Design Review Panel members with planning minister Anthony Roberts.

NSW State Design Review Panel members with planning minister Anthony Roberts. Image: Salty Dingo

The Government Architect NSW (GANSW) has announced the 40 independent and expert members who will be called upon to advise on significant, large-scale developments.

The panelists, who are predominantly architects, were selected from more than 200 applications following a call for applications in December 2017. They include former NSW government architect Peter Mould, former national presidents of the Australian Institute of Architects Shelley Penn and Ken Maher and the newly elected 2019-2020 national president Helen Lochhead.

The NSW State Design Review Panel (SDRP) pilot will take place over 12 months, and is being organized by GANSW on behalf of the Department of Planning and Environment.

The experts will form four-person, typology-specific panels chaired by the government architect or a nominated representative. The panels will provide feedback to the government or a project’s private proponents during the early stages of design to “promote improvements to the design quality of projects when changes can be made easily, rather than after a development application has been lodged.”

Local perspectives will be reflected through the involvement of locally nominated panel members for the assessment of particular applications.

Peter Poulet, NSW government architect, said, “By consulting with the SDRP, both government and private sector projects will benefit from expert design advice at no cost for the period of the pilot program. This will further ensure their projects are at the forefront of community-focused design innovation.”

Designs will be assessed against the principles of Better Placed, the GANSW-authored architecture and design policy for the state that was released in August 2017.

The document outlines the principles, objects and directions for creating well-designed built environments.

Although a number of design review panels already exist in the state, there hasn’t yet been a uniform process for evaluating the design of state-significant projects, with major projects often having discrete design review processes. 

Anthony Roberts, NSW planning minister, said, “Having a diverse group of expert and experienced voices guiding the decisions of the Department will not only ensure that we continue to have a strong assessment process, but also ensure the community has an even greater say on the future direction of planning and design.” 

At the end of the 12-month pilot period, the department will decide whether or not to continue with the program.

The State Design Review Panel members are:

Abbie Galvin, BVN

Adam Haddow, SJB

Amanda Roberts, SJB Urban

Ashley Dunn, Dunn and Hillam

Bill Tsakalos, TDDP

Deborah Barnstone, UTS

Diane Jones, PTW

Gabrielle Morrish, GM Urban Design

Garth Paterson, Paterson Design Studio

Helen Lochhead, UNSW

Ingrid Mather, JMD

Isabelle Toland, Aileen Sage

John Choi, CHROFI

Justine Clark, Parlour

Ken Maher, Ken Maher Consulting

Kim Crestani, Order Architects

Lynn Hancock, Architectus

Mark Tyrell, Tyrell Studio

Mary Anne McGirr, Design Inc

Matt Davis, Davis and Davis

Matt Devine, Matt Devine and Co

Matthew Bennett, Bennett and Trimble

Matthew Pullinger, Matthew Pullinger Architect

Mattias Hollenstein, Stewart Hollenstein

Michael Tawa, University of Sydney

Oi Choong, Context

Peter Mould, Peter Mould Architect

Peter Smith, Smith and Tzannes

Philip Pollard, Amenity

Richard Nugent, Conybeare Morrison

Roger Jasprizza, Oculus

Sacha Coles, Aspect Studio

Sam Crawford, Elemental Architecture

Sara Stace, Link Place

Sarah Koshy, Jacobs

Shelley Penn, Shelley Penn Architect

Simon Kilbane, UTS

Sophie Cleland, ARM Architecture

Sue Anne Ware, University of Newcastle

Timothy Hill, Partners Hill

More news

Most read