Endorsed by

Peter Stutchbury awarded 2016 RIBA International Fellowship

The Royal Institute of British Architects has awarded a 2016 International Fellowship to Australian architect Peter Stutchbury.

Stutchbury, who is also the Australian Institute of Architects 2015 Gold Medallist, is among nine non-UK-based architects who received this lifetime honour.

“Peter Stutchbury was nominated because of his consummate skill as an architect, draughtsman and builder; because of his dedication to his native land and the rights and dignity of its people; because of his teaching and because of that mercurial ability that only a few architects have, which is the ability to create and sustain a milieu where many talents can thrive,” the jury commented.

Peter Stutchbury and Richard Leplastrier conducting the Glenn Murcutt International Masterclass.

Peter Stutchbury and Richard Leplastrier conducting the Glenn Murcutt International Masterclass.

Image: Courtesy Architecture Foundation of Australia

The jury also acknowledged Stutchbury’s contribution to architectural education, particularly through his involvement with the Glenn Murcutt International Masterclass. “Perhaps his most influential pedagogy has been based around the master classes that he shares with [Richard] Leplastrier, [Glenn] Murcutt and Brit Andresen,” said the jury. “He brings working architects out into nature and offers them an intense engagement with the natural world and with each other. It is an experience that few forget and an expanding group of designers around the world acknowledge the deep influence of his ideas and charismatic company.”

Stutchbury was honoured for a body of work that includes the Deepwater Woolshed (2001–2005), Sydney International Archery Park for the Sydney Olympics (1996–1999), as well as a host of houses across New South Wales and the Wall House for Japanese fashion designer Issey Miyake.

He will be presented with his International Fellowship at a ceremony in London on 1 February 2016.

The other 2016 International Fellows are: Kees Christiaanse (KCAP, Netherlands), Mario Cucinella (MC Architects, Italy), Bjarke Ingels (BIG, Denmark), Rick Joy (Rick Joy Architects, USA), Brian MacKay-Lyons (MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Canada), Peter Märkli (Studio Märkli, Switzerland), and José Antonio Martínez Lapeña and Elias Torres (Spain).

Past Australian recipients of the RIBA International Fellowship include Richard Leplastrier and Peter Wilson (both in 2014).

More news

See all
2017 MPavilion by OMA, winner of the Melbourne Award in 2018 for "Contribution to Profile by a Community Organisation." In push to improve development, City of Melbourne adds Urban Design category to Melbourne Awards

The City of Melbourne has announced an expansion of its annual awards program – the Melbourne Awards – that includes a category for outstanding urban …

The  3-83 Kings Way and 127-129 Kavanagh Street towers, designed by Elenberg Fraser. Elenberg Fraser-designed dual tower project rejigged

A proposal for a two-tower residential precinct in South Bank, which first won planning approval in 2011, is back before council with a reduced scale …

Illustrative design of the La Mama rebuild by Cottee Parker Architects. ‘Simple and restrained’ post-fire rebuild of Melbourne’s La Mama Theatre

Meg White, an architect with a 25-year background in set design and performance, is behind the design of the new La Mama Theatre.

The 430 Pitt Street building, designed by BVN. BVN designs hotel with sloping ‘green waterfall’ for Sydney’s Pitt Street

A seventeen-storey tower on Sydney’s Pitt Street designed by BVN will open in 2020 and include an upmarket hotel, according to Intercontinental Hotels Group.

Most read

Latest on site